Stephen Lawrence Prize 2023, Architecture, UK Low Cost Buildings, RIBA Award News

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2023

30 November 2022

RIBA announces new-look Stephen Lawrence Prize and student mentoring

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has announced revised eligibility for the Stephen Lawrence Prize and an associated student mentoring opportunity.

Stephen Lawrence Prize Changes

Now in its 25th year, the annual Stephen Lawrence Prize was founded by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation and Baroness Doreen Lawrence in 1998, in memory of Stephen Lawrence, an aspiring architect who was tragically murdered in a racist attack in 1993.

From 2023, the Stephen Lawrence Prize will celebrate new talent by exclusively recognising projects led by an early career project architect, typically someone who has qualified within five years prior to the project’s completion date. Previously, the prize was awarded to the best projects with a construction budget of less than £1 million.

In addition to this significant eligibility change, an architecture student, chosen by the Stephen Lawrence Day Foundation, will join the jury selecting the winning scheme, and go on to be mentored by the winning project architect.

Baroness Doreen Lawrence OBE said:

“Since 1998, the Stephen Lawrence Prize has done important work in recognising remarkable architecture – and as we approach the 25th edition, it seemed the right time to revisit the focus. Finding ways to increase diversity and inclusion are critical, and I am delighted that this new iteration of the award will solely recognise the work of early career architects. The revised eligibility, alongside the mentoring scheme, ensures what the award offers strongly aligns with our aim to celebrate those starting out in the industry. As always, I very much look forward to joining the jury next year.”

Matthew Goldschmied, Managing Trustee at the Marco Goldschmied Foundation, said:

“The Stephen Lawrence Prize has been awarded to many outstanding projects over the last 24 years, and it is timely to refresh and evolve. I’m excited by these changes which will serve to increase the breadth and diversity of this award further still, whilst crucially supporting the next generation. These are exciting developments – I greatly look forward to the selection process and am confident that we will see some exceptional projects in 2023.”

As in previous years, the Stephen Lawrence Prize shortlist will be selected from winners of the UK RIBA Regional Awards. Project Architects – including their year of qualification – are identified at the point of entry.  The winner will be announced at the Stirling Prize Ceremony in October 2023.

The 2023 RIBA Awards are open for entries until 12 January 2023. Information on the entry process and eligibility can be found here:


For this award, early career architect is defined as someone who has qualified as an architect typically within five years prior to the project completion date, although we will consider mitigations that may impact this timeframe. We recognise that some entrants may not have been working full time for a range of reasons. To ensure inclusivity, the panel will actively encourage applications from people who may have been working for longer than five years but have spent time outside of their professional career.

The Stephen Lawrence Day Foundation was established amid unprecedented growing global awareness of racial inequality, and exists to inspire a more equal, inclusive society, and to foster opportunities for marginalised young people in the UK. The Foundation has been working tirelessly with stakeholders in education, business, and government to develop a framework that will become the bedrock of the foundation’s future work.

The Marco Goldschmied Foundation was created by Marco Goldschmied in 1998 and continues to sponsor The Stephen Lawrence Prize for architecture and to award bursaries for the support of architecture students in need. The Foundation supports research into innovation in the arts, environment and human rights fields by the provision of grants and awards to individuals or other charitable organisations.

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2023 News information from RIBA

Previously on e-architect:

13 Oct 2022

Stephen Lawrence Prize Winners

Hackney School of Food wins Stephen Lawrence Prize 2022
Hackney School of Food by Surman Weston
photo © Jim Stephenson
Stephen Lawrence Prize 2022 Winner News – won by Water Tower in Norfolk

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2022 Shortlist News

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2021 Winner News

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2021

Stephen Lawrence Prize Winners

2017 RIBA Stephen Lawrence Prize Winner

The Houseboat, Poole Harbour, Dorset, Southern England
Design: Mole Architects and Rebecca Granger Architects
The Houseboat near Poole Harbour
photo © Rory Gardiner
The Houseboat near Poole Harbour winner of Stephen Lawrence Prize 2017Stephen Lawrence Prize 2017 Shortlist

2016 RIBA Stephen Lawrence Prize Winner

House of Trace, London by Tsuruta Architects
House of Trace
photo : Tim Croker
House of TraceStephen Lawrence Prize 2016 Shortlist

2014 Stephen Lawrence Prize Winner

House no 7, Isle of Tiree
photo courtesy of RIBA
House no 7, Isle of Tiree

Stephen Lawrence Prize Winner in 2013

Montpelier Community Nursery, Brecknock Road, N19 by AYA
Montpelier Community Nursery
photo : Nick Kane

Stephen Lawrence Prize Winner 2012
Kings Grove LondonStephen Lawrence Prize 2012

Royal Institute of British Architects Awards

Stirling Prize

RIBA Awards

RIBA Royal Gold Medal

RIBA Manser Medal

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2009

Stephen Lawrence Memorial Lecture

Comments / photos for the Stephen Lawrence Prize 2023 page welcome