RIBA Special Awards, 2009, Architecture, Buildings, Winners, Shortlist, News, UK

Stephen Lawrence Prize 2009

Royal Institute of British Architects Award: RIBA Special Buildings – Architectural Prize UK

21 Apr 2020
Stephen Lawrence Day 2020

Stephen Lawrence Prize

Winners announced at the Stirling Prize awards on 17 Oct 2009

£5,000 award
projects with a budget of less than £1 million

The Long Barn Studio
Design: Nicolas Tye Architects
Stephen Lawrence Prize 2009 Winner - Long Barn Studio
photo : Nerida Howard
The Long Barn Studio

El Ray, Kent
Simon Conder Associates

Café Deal Pier, Kent, south east England, UK
Design: Niall McLaughlin Architects
Stephen Lawrence Prize 2009 Winner - Café Deal Pier
photo courtesy of architects
Deal Pier
Deal developed as a beach-fronted seaport, serving sailboats that would hang about the mouth of the channel waiting for a fair wind. At times there could be a huge flotilla of wooden ships awaiting favourable conditions. Those sailors that were allowed would slip ashore to supply and please themselves in the town.

Hind House in Wargrave, Wargrave, Berkshire, England, UK
Design: John Pardey Architects
Hind House
photograph courtesy of architects
Hind House
Hind House sits on the banks of the River Loddon, near Wargrave in Berkshire, UK. The concept was based on three elements; living, guests and bedrooms, creating wings that adopt a pinwheel form raised on columns to combat flooding from the river.

House in Highgate Cemetery, London
Eldridge Smerin

Manser Medal

best new one-off house or housing scheme

House in Highgate Cemetery [link above], London
Eldridge Smerin

Tarling Estate regeneration, London
S333 with Stock Woolstencroft

Gap House, London
Pitman Tozer Architects

House at Piper’s End, Hertfordshire
Niall McLaughlin Architects

Sliding House, Suffolk

The Crown Estate Conservation Award

A £5,000 award
best conservation project that has restored or adapted a historic building

No 14 Lincoln’s Inn Fields, London
Julian Harrap Architects

St Martin-in-the-Fields Project, London
Eric Parry Architects

The Tyneside Cinema, Tyne & Wear
Fletcher Priest Architects

Midland Hotel, Morecambe
Union North

Private House
Allies & Morrison

RIBA Cabe Public Space Award

New Street Square, London
Bennetts Associates

5 Aldermanbury Square, London
Eric Parry Architects

Liverpoool One Masterplan

Castleford Bridge, Yorkshire
McDowell & Benedetti

RIBA Sorrell Foundation Schools Award

Merchants’ Academy, Bristol
Penoyre & Prasad

The Minster School, Nottingham
Penoyre & Prasad

St Magdalene Academy, London
Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Falmouth School and Design & Technology Building, Cornwall
Urban Salon

RIBA Client of the Year

Laura Lee for Maggie’s Centre London
Rogers Stirk Harbour & Partners

Reverend Nicholas Holtam for St Martin-in-the-Fields Project [link above], London
Eric Parry Architects

Dr Roy McGregor for Kentish Town Health Centre, London
Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Peter Millican for Kings Place, London

Rod Holmes for Liverpool One masterplan

Peter Sharpe for Kielder Observatory, Northumberland
Charles Barclay Architects

Comments re the RIBA Special Awards 2009 page welcome

RIBA Stirling Prize 2009

The RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist will be drawn from the 103 RIBA Award winners.

The RIBA Stirling Prize is awarded to the architects of the building that has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year. The prize will be presented on 17 Oct 2009, broadcast live on Channel 4:

Stirling Prize

Lubetkin Prize – Buildings Shortlist 2009

Beijing Airport Building

Beijing Water Cube

Birds Nest Building

British High Commission Colombo

Museum for the Brandhorst Collection

Sean O’Casey Community Centre

Lubetkin Prize

Comments on the RIBA Award 2009 Winners welcome

Location: UK

RIBA Award Winners 2009

RIBA Award Winners : 2009

RIBA Awards

New Housing

RIBA Royal Gold Medal

Roses Design Awards

Comments / photos for the RIBA Special Awards 2009 – Stephen Lawrence Prize page welcome