Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury Chair, Justice Stephen Breyer, Award, Architects, News

Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury Chair 2018

Hyatt Foundation International Architecture Award News – Justice Stephen Breyer News

Aug 16, 2018

2018 Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury Chair

The Hyatt Foundation Appoints New Chair of The Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury

Chicago, IL (August 16, 2018) – The Hyatt Foundation appoints Justice Stephen Breyer as Chair of the Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury following the retirement of the most recent Chair, Glenn Murcutt, announced Tom Pritzker, Chairman.

The Prize is known internationally as architecture’s highest honor and this year will mark the 41st year of the accolade.

Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury Chair, Justice Stephen Breyer
image courtesy of The Hyatt Foundation/Pritzker Archtecture Prize

“It is with great pleasure that we designate Justice Breyer as Jury Chair,” comments Mr. Pritzker. “His devotion to civic-minded architecture underscores the mission of the Prize and his unparalleled ability to guide a group deliberation is essential in creating a unified voice within this diverse and international panel of jurors.”

Justice Breyer has been a member of the Jury since 2011 and has a longstanding interest in architecture. He and Judge Douglas Woodlock, representing the federal government as client, worked closely with Harry Cobb, who designed the John Joseph Moakley United States Courthouse and Harbor Park in Boston.

Justice Breyer also wrote the foreword to Celebrating the Courthouse: A Guide for Architects, Their Clients, and the Public (W. W. Norton & Company). He was appointed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit in 1980 and become Chief Judge in 1990. In 1994 he was appointed a Supreme Court Justice by President Clinton.

Following the retirement of Glenn Murcutt and Lord Peter Palumbo, who served as Chair from 2005 to 2016, the other jury members for the 2019 award will include:

André Corrêa do Lago, architectural critic, curator, and Brazilian Ambassador to Japan, Tokyo, Japan; Richard Rogers, architect and 2007 Pritzker Laureate, London, United Kingdom; Kazuyo Sejima, architect, educator and 2010 Pritzker Laureate, Tokyo, Japan; Benedetta Tagliabue, architect and director of EMBT Miralles Tagliabue, Barcelona, Spain; Ratan N. Tata, Chairman of Tata Trusts, Mumbai, India; and Wang Shu, architect, educator, and 2012 Pritzker Laureate, Hangzhou, China. Martha Thorne, Executive Director of the Pritzker Prize and also Dean of IE School of Architecture and Design manages the open nominations process, which accepts suggestions from architects from all over the world.

The 2018 Pritzker Prize was most recently awarded to Balkrishna Doshi in Toronto, Canada, and the 2019 Laureate will be announced next spring.

Visit for more information.

Copyright © 2018 The Hyatt Foundation / The Pritzker Architecture Prize

The Pritzker Architecture Prize
150 N. Riverside Plaza
Suite 3200
Chicago, IL 60606

Previously on e-architect:

May 4, 2018

Lecture by Pritzker Architecture Prize 2018 Winner

Balkrishna Doshi – 2018 Pritzker Architecture Prize winner – to lecture in Toronto

Balkrishna Doshi 2018 Pritzker Architecture Prize winner
photo courtesy of VSF

Pritzker Architecture Prize 2018 Winner

Professor Balkrishna Doshi – 2018 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate

Pritzker Prize

Pritzker Prize Architects : main page with current winner information

2017 Pritzker Architecture Prize – RCR Arquitectes
Pritzker Architecture Prize 2017 Winner
Pritzker Architecture Prize 2017 Laureates

Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Past Winners

Pritzker Architecture Prize Past Winners

Pritzker Prize 2015 – Frei Otto selected as the 2015 Pritzker Architecture Prize

Alejandro Aravena (Elemental) Joint Project : Ruta del Peregrino, Jalisco

Pritzker Architecture Prize Winner 2014
2014 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate : Shigeru Ban architect

A key building by this architect: Centre Pompidou-Metz, France:
Centre Pompidou-Metz in France
photo : Roland Halbe

Pritzker Architecture Prize Winner 2013
2013 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate : Toyo Ito architect

Toyo Ito Museum of Architecture

Toyo Ito architect:
Toyo Ito architect
photo courtesy of Toyo Ito & Associates, Architects

Pritzker Prize Citation 2013 – Toyo Ito

Pritzker Prize 2012 won by architect Wang Shu

Wang Shu architect
photos from ceremony

Pritzker Prize 2012 winner : Wang Shu

Pritzker Prize 2011 won by architect Eduardo Souto de Moura

Eduardo Souto de Moura
photo : Augusto Brázio

Pritzker Prize 2011 Citation from the Jury + The Jury + Eduardo Souto de Moura information

Pritzker Prize 2010 winner
Eduardo Souto de Moura

Pritzker Prize 2010 won by architects SANAA

Pritzker Prize 2009 won by architect Peter Zumthor
Peter Zumthor

Zaha Hadid architect : Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury member

Pritzker Prize Winner 2010 : SANAA architects

Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate 2010 : Citation from the Jury + The Jury

Key Architecture Awards

Stirling Prize

Mies van der Rohe Awards

World Architecture Festival Awards

AR Awards for Emerging Architecture

Comments / photos for the Pritzker Architecture Prize Jury Chair – page welcome