What House? Awards, Residential Buildings, 2013, Property Developers UK, Homes

What House? Awards 2013

British Property Prize – UK Residences

30 Oct 2013

What House? Awards 2013 – Best Residential Buildings UK

What House? Awards 2013 News

The What House? Awards celebrate the success of property developers, with awards being handed out to companies and developers across 21 categories. This year, the award ceremony takes place on the 15th November at the Grosvenor House hotel at noon.

Grosvenor House hotel in London:
Grosvenor House hotel London - What House? Awards
picture from What House? Awards

Award winners receive a Gold, Silver or Bronze plaque, depending on their award for each category. The one award that doesn’t take this format is the Housebuilder of the Year; there is only one winner for this award.

The 2012 ceremony

Last year saw CALA Homes awarded the Housebuilder of the Year accolade, with actor James Nesbitt hosting the event. Other winners included Gold for Barratt Homes for Sustainable Developer of the Year, Gold for Thames Valley Housing Association for Housing Association of the Year and Gold for Lower Mill Estate for Best Landscape Design.

What House? Awards:
What House? Awards
picture from What House? Awards

CALA Homes will be hoping to once again be awarded the Housebuilder of the Year title, but will face stiff competition like last year. They also picked up awards for Best Medium Housebuilder and Best House for ‘The Georgian Villa’ located in Trinity Park, Edingburgh.

The prestige of the What House? Awards

2013 makes it the 32nd year of the What House? Awards. A What House? Award is prestigious and recognised in the industry. Developers and businesses alike know what a great achievement receiving an award would be on the 15th November.

The awards cover anything from the Best Starter Home to the Best Brownfield Development. It is this which makes the awards so unique as it covers a range of housing development, and rewards those developers who have built, renovated, designed and invested in new homes.

Often referred to as the ‘Oscars’ of the housebuilding industry, the What House? Awards are seen as the most coveted. This year will be the 32nd consecutive year for the ceremony and last year’s awards saw over 1,300 senior industry figures attend the awards. It is this that makes the What House? Awards such a respected accolade in the industry.

During the run-up the awards, every shortlisted entry receives a visit by at least one judge, which means judges travel across the UK in order to get a first-hand look at each entry before they come to a final judgement. There have been winners from England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland in the past two years making the What House? Awards as varied as possible.

With the choice that new buyers face when it comes to making decisions on property, it’s important to know who to trust and with an accolade like a What House? Award, buyers can be assured that they’re getting the very best when it comes to quality, investment and trust.

What House? Awards dinner:
What House? Awards dinner
picture from What House? Awards

With competition between property developers and companies fiercer than ever, and the rising standard of new homes, this year’s ceremony will cement the legacy of winners and give them an edge over their competitors when it comes to buyers looking to invest in a new home.

The winners will be announced at the Gala Luncheon on the afternoon of the 15th November at the Grosvenor House Hotel.

What House? Awards information received 301013

English Houses

Contemporary Houses

What House? Award


A Scottish house builder has swept the boards at the UK house building industry ‘Oscars’, the What House? Awards.

Edinburgh-based Applecross scooped four awards at the prestigious awards ceremony at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London in front of an audience of over 1500 industry peers.

Craig Hall, Marketing Director, Applecross said: “Applecross was the only company of its size to win so many accolades which are regarded within the industry as symbols of excellence. We were able to punch well above our weight thanks to a consistent focus on high quality, architecturally rich homes and our commitment to delivering excellent customer service.”

The exclusive New Pitsligo development in Merchiston/Greenhill won two awards, a gold award for ‘Best Exterior Design’ and also a silver award for ‘Best Luxury Apartment’. The parkland development of Waterside Green in Craiglockhart, Edinburgh was awarded bronze for ‘Best Partnership Development’. The judges commended Applecross’ joint partnership with the City of Edinburgh Council to transform the former Meggetland Playing Fields into a centre of sporting excellence for the community.

Applecross also collected a bronze award for Best Medium Housebuilder, a tremendous accolade for the company which was competing for the first time in this category which saw it pitched against some of the most successful house builders in the UK.

Craig Hall continues: “We are delighted at our success in these UK awards which completes one of the most exciting years in Applecross’ twenty-seven year history.”

Applecross recently announced a £231 million sales expansion programme which includes the redevelopment of the Eskbank Campus of Jewel and Esk Valley College; the former Fruitmarket in Chesser, Edinburgh and also the former BBC Scotland Headquarters on Queen Margaret Drive, Glasgow.

What House? Awards information received 221107

What House? Awards – external link

New House Designs

Location: Grosvenor House hotel, London, England, UK

Architecture Awards

Architectural Awards

Stirling Prize

Pritzker Prize architects

World Architecture Festival Awards

Architectural Design

Contemporary Architecture

British Architecture

New House


Comments / photos for the What House? Awards page welcome