Wood Design & Building Awards 2015, Results, Timber Building Design, Architect, Photos

2015 Wood Design & Building Awards Winners News

Timber Architectural Prize Canada – Winners News from Canadian Wood Council

Wood Design & Building Awards Winners in 2015

Wood Awards Showcase Leadership in Architecture and Design : Winners Announced

Ottawa, ON, January 2016 – The Wood Design & Building magazine is delighted to announce the award recipients for the prestigious 2015/16 Wood Design Awards program.

24 + 22 Jan 2016

Wood Design & Building Awards Winners 2015


– Underhill, Matinecock, New York, Bates Masi + Architects LLC
Underhill, Matinecock
photo : Michael Moran, Michael Moran Studio

– Stade de soccer de Montréal, Montreal, Quebec, Saucier + Perrotte architectes and Hughes Condon Marler Architects
Stade de soccer de Montréal
photo : Olivier Blouin, Olivier Blouin Photos

– Guildford Aquatic Centre, Surrey, British Columbia, Bing Thom Architects, Shape Architecture (Associate Architect)
Guildford Aquatic Centre, Surrey
photo : Ema Peter, Ema Peter Photography

– Puukuokka Housing Block, Jyväskylä, Finland, OOPEAA Office for Peripheral Architecture
Puukuokka Housing Block, Jyväskylä
photo : Mikko Auerniitty

– Public Library of Constitución, Constitución, Chile, Sebastian Irarrazaval Arquitectos
Public Library of Constitución
photo : Felipe Díaz

Winning recipients were hand selected from over 140 online entries by an esteemed architectural jury consisting of:

 Dean Maltz, Managing Partner at Shigeru Ban Architects www.shigerubanarchitects.com
 Stéphan Langevin, Partner at STGM Architect www.stgm.net
 David Keltner, Principal at Hacker hackerarchitects.com

Special awards were granted by the Canadian Wood Council as well as this year’s sponsors, Sustainable Forestry Initiative and Western Red Cedar. Projects submitted to this year’s awards program pushed the boundaries of what is thought of as conventional applications for wood products – reaffirming wood’s versatility within construction. Both the International and North American projects displayed a well-articulated understanding of old and new techniques for wood in architecture.

“It’s one thing to build a building, it’s another to ensure that the building complements its surrounding environment from a green, structural/functional and aesthetic point of view.” explained Etienne Lalonde, VicePresident of Market Development for the Canadian Wood Council. “The Wood Design Awards program is an opportunity for design teams to showcase their exceptional wood buildings and construction techniques, and to highlight examples of applications for wood/wood products that can be applied to different projects and under varying conditions.”

The Wood Design & Building magazine, in partnership with the Canadian Wood Council, extends its appreciation to everyone who participated in the 2015 Awards program, and congratulates all of the award recipients featured below. A special thank you is also extended to this year’s sponsors, the Sustainable Forestry Initiative and Real Cedar.

The Award Recipients for the 2015/16 Wood Design Awards program:

 Underhill, Matinecock, New York, Bates Masi + Architects LLC
 Stade de soccer de Montréal, Montreal, Quebec, Saucier + Perrotte architectes and Hughes Condon Marler
 Guildford Aquatic Centre, Surrey, British Columbia, Bing Thom Architects, Shape Architecture (Associate
 Puukuokka Housing Block, Jyväskylä, Finland, OOPEAA Office for Peripheral Architecture
 Public Library of Constitucion, Constitución, Chile, Sebastian Irarrazaval Arquitectos

 Lightbox, Point Roberts, Washington, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
 Roy-Lawrence Residence, Sutton, Quebec, Chevalier Morales Architectes
 Fort McMurray International Airport, Fort McMurray, Wood Buffalo, Alberta, office of mcfarlane biggar
architects + designers inc. Project commenced as predecessor firm mcfarlane green biggar Architecture +
Design Inc.
 Toronto Public Library Scarborough Civic Centre Branch, Toronto, Ontario, LGA Architectural Partners and
Phillip H. Carter architects in joint venture
 MEC Head Office, Vancouver, British Columbia, Proscenium Architecture + Interiors Inc.
 Fire Station 76, Gresham, Oregon, Hennebery Eddy Architects, Inc.
 World Intellectual Property Organization Conference Hall, Geneva, Switzerland, Behnisch Architekten
 PINCH Sweep Warp, Shuanghe Village, Yunnan Province, China, Hong Kong University Architecture students

 Old Main Academic Building Addition, Thompson Rivers University, Kamloops, British Columbia, Diamond
Schmitt Architects, Stantec Architecture (Associate Architect)
 Whitetail Woods Regional Park Camper Cabins, Farmington, Minnesota, HGA Architects and Engineers
 Bar Raval, Toronto, Ontario, PARTISANS Architects
 Mont-Laurier Multipurpose Performance Hall, Mont-Laurier, Quebec, Les architectes FABG
 Nursery in Guastalla, Guastalla, Reggio Emilia, Italy, Mario Cucinella Architects
 Veneer House – Cogon Day School, Barangay Cogon, Balilihan Bohol, Philippines, Kobayashi Maki Design
 Nelson Marlborough Institute of Technology Arts and Media Building, Nelson City, New Zealand, Irving Smith
Jack Architects Ltd
 Dune House, Terschelling, The Netherlands, Marc Koehler Architects
 Guessing Agricultural School, Guessing, Austria, PICHLER & TRAUPMANN ARCHITEKTEN ZT GMBH

 Philip J. Currie Dinosaur Museum, Wembley, AB, Teeple Architects (Design Architect); Architecture Tkalcic
Bengert (ATB) (Architect of Record); Reich + Petch Design International (Museum Consultant)
 MAZAMA House, Mazama, WA, FINNE Architects

 Quilakwa Center, # 5655 Highway 97A, Enderby, BC, KH Design Inc.

 Treehouse, Ottawa, ON, Ha2 Architecture & Design

Here are the 2015 winners from the Wood Design & Building Awards program:

Film on YouTube

The Wood Design & Building Awards is the only North American program to recognize, award and publicize excellence in wood architecture.

Wood Design & Building Awards Winners 2016 – launched August 2016

Website: 2015 Wood Design & Building Awards Winners

Location: Canada

Canadian Architecture

Canadian Architecture Design – chronological list

Canadian Architecture

Spa Scandinave
photo : Marc Cramer

Wood Awards

Canadian Architects

Architecture Awards

American Architecture Awards

American Institute of Architects Gold Medal

Pritzker Prize architects

Stirling Prize

Wood Awards Winners

Wood Awards – UK Prize Scheme

Wood Awards 2009 Gold Award
Kings Place Concert Hall by Dixon Jones, architects
Kings Place Concert Hall
photo : Richard Bryant – arcaid.co.uk
Wood Awards 2009

Wood Awards 2008 Gold Award
Wood Awards 2008 Winner : Shetland Museum and Archives by BDP
Shetland Museum
photo © Mark Sinclair

Wood Awards 2007 Gold Award
Wood Awards 2007 Winner : Formby Pool, Lancashire, northwest England, by Feilden Clegg Bradley

Wood Awards 2006 Gold Award
Wood Awards 2006 Winner : Savill Building, Windsor Great Park, southeast England by Glenn Howells Architects
Savill Building
photo : The Crown Estate. Warwick Sweeney Photography

Wood Awards 2003 Gold Award
The Weald & Downland Gridshell

Website: www.woodawards.com

RIBA Awards

Comments / photos for the 2015 Wood Design & Building Awards Winners page welcome

Website: www.woodawards.com