AIA Gold Medal, Winner, Architect, USA, Result, Building, Prize, News

AIA Gold Medal – Architecture Awards

American Institute of Architects Prize

American Institute of Architects 2012 Gold Medal : Steven Holl – winner

2012 AIA Gold Medal

Steven Holl Architects architect

American Institute of Architects 2012 Gold Medal winner Steven Holl
photograph © Mark Heitoff

AIA Gold Medal

68th AIA Gold Medalist

Key projects by the practice include the Vanke Center in Shenzhen, Linked Hybrid in Beijing and the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art in the USA.

2011 AIA Gold Medal

American Institute of Architects 2011 Gold Medal : Fumihiko Maki – winner

Fumihiko Maki

MIT Media Lab
photo courtesy of Andy Ryan

67th AIA Gold Medalist

Key projects by the practice include Annenberg Public Policy Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, WTC 4 New York and the MIT Media Arts & Sciences Building, Massachusetts, all in the USA.

2010 AIA Gold Medal

American Institute of Architects 2010 Gold Medal : Peter Bohlin – winner

Peter Bohlin is the founder Bohlin Cywinski Jackson Architects

Key projects by the practice include Fifth Avenue Apple Store in New York City.

The 66th AIA Gold Medalist will have his name chiselled into the granite Wall of Honor in the AIA headquarters’ lobby, Washington D.C.

2009 AIA Gold Medal

American Institute of Architects 2009 Gold Medal : Glenn Murcutt – winner

Simpson-Lee House
Preliminary study sketch by Glenn Murcutt for the Simpson-Lee House, Mount Wilson, Blue Mountains, New South Wales, Australia. 1988-94

Australian architect Glenn Marcus Murcutt, Hon. FAIA. Murcutt was recognized by the AIA Board in large part for the depth of his work and the breadth of his influence.

Murcutt, a sole practitioner, is noted for his ecologically responsive and socially responsible Modernist suburban and rural homes with which he incorporates a variety of natural materials.

“Recently our architectural field experienced an ‘ecological boom,’” writes 2005 AIA Gold Medalist Tadao Ando in a letter of support for Murcutt’s nomination. “However, without relation to such a trend of time, Glenn Murcutt has always been focusing on the geographical and regional conditions, from the very beginning of his career.”

Although Murcutt works exclusively in Australia, he has had and continues to have a profound impact on architecture around the world. “While some might characterize a single-continent geographic range of work as ‘regional,’ the effect of Mr. Murcutt’s is amplified by impassioned and extensive lectures and a commitment to teaching throughout the world,” said Tom Howorth, FAIA, chair of the AIA Committee on Design’s Gold Medal Committee.

Murcutt, born in London in 1936, grew up in the remote Morobe district of New Guinea. Living close to the land helped develop Murcutt’s preference for simple, vernacular architecture. Murcutt studied architecture at the University of New South Wales from 1956 to 1961, during which he worked with a series of architects. He established his own practice in Sydney in 1970.

The AIA Gold Medal, voted on annually, is the highest honor the AIA confers on an individual. The Gold Medal honors an individual whose significant body of work has had a lasting influence on the theory and practice of architecture. Murcutt will be presented the award at the American Architectural Foundation’s Accent on Architecture Gala in February.

Murcutt becomes the 65th AIA Gold Medalist, joining the ranks of such visionaries as Thomas Jefferson, Frank Lloyd Wright, Louis Sullivan, LeCorbusier, Louis Kahn, I.M. Pei, Cesar Pelli, Edward Larrabee Barnes and last year’s recipient, Renzo Piano. In recognition of his legacy to architecture, Murcutt’s name will be chiseled into the granite Wall of Honor in the lobby of the AIA headquarters in Washington, D.C.

Information on American Institute of Architects 2009 Gold Medal from AIA via Architecture Foundation Australia

AIA Gold Medal 2009 Winner : Glenn Murcutt, Australian architect

Location: Washington D.C, USA

American Architecture Designs

American Architecture Awards

America Architecture News – latest building updates

American Architectural Designs – selection:

Hexagon View Cabin, west bank of Austin, Texas
Design: LaRue Architects
Hexagon View Cabin Lake Austin
photograph : Dror Baldinger
Hexagon View Cabin at Lake Austin
The 4,100 SF one-story ‘Hill Country contemporary’ residence sits on a 1.2-acre site on the west bank of Austin, TX. The lot had an existing house – built in the 1950’s as a vacation lake cabin – typical for the area. The original hexagon shaped cabin was renovated with an addition added in the 1970s.

Architectural Awards

Pritzker Prize architects

Stirling Prize

RIBA Gold Medal Award

WAF Awards

AIA New York Design Awards

Renzo Piano – American Institute of Architects Gold Medal 2008

Tadao Ando – AIA Gold Medal Winner 2005

Comments / photos for the American Institute of Architects Gold Medal page welcome

Website: American Institute of Architects Gold Medal