AIA Gold Medal 2019 Winner, Architect Richard Rogers, USA, Result, Building Prize News

AIA Gold Medal 2019 Winner

Lord Richard Rogers Wins American Institute of Architects Prize: US Architecture Awards

Dec 11, 2018

Richard Rogers Architect Wins 2019 AIA Gold Medal

Lord Richard Rogers, Hon. FAIA

Lord Richard Rogers architect UK - AIA Gold Medal 2019 Winner
photo Courtesy Dezeen Limited

2019 AIA Gold Medal – Richard Rogers

From the Centre Pompidou in Paris to New York City’s post–September 11 skyline, the work of Richard Rogers, Hon. FAIA, has influenced architectural conversations and helped redefine an architect’s responsibilities to society. Rogers’ commitment to our cities, environment, and humanity has resulted in a wealth of honors, while cementing his place in architectural history.

“He is the quintessential builder, committed to mastering the craft and technology of construction, harnessing it towards efficient buildings, and forging an expressive architectural language,” wrote Moshe Safdie, FAIA, in his support of Rogers’ nomination for the Gold Medal. “Before it was fashionable, he was an environmentalist, who recognized early in his career the challenges of energy and climate, developing innovative solutions.”

3 World Trade Center New York City:
3 World Trade Center New York City by AIA Gold Medal 2019 winner
photograph : Joe Woolhead

Born in Florence and trained as an architect in London and, later, at Yale University, Rogers’ outlook on the profession is as urbane as his early life and education. The Centre Pompidou, one of his earliest projects—and one he designed with Renzo Piano, Hon. AIA—boasts themes that have become trademarks in Rogers’ architecture since the mid-1960s. Structure, technology, and an eschewing of monumentalism commingle in what was envisioned as a cross between “an information-oriented computerized Times Square and the British Museum.”

Bordeaux Law Courts building:
Bordeaux Law Courts building
photograph : Christian Richters

The project shifted views on museums from elitist establishments to sites of social and cultural exchange deeply embedded in the heart of cities. Since then Rogers has proven himself as visionary a planner, urbanist, advocate, and humanist as he is an architect. In London, which arguably bears his strongest imprint, his plan for the city and life after the 2012 Olympics is a testament to his thoughtfulness, having survived the terms of two mayors with only minor modifications.

“Richard Rogers is a friend, a companion of adventures and life,” wrote Renzo Piano in his support of Rogers’ nomination. “He also happens to be a great architect, and much more than that. He is a planner attracted by the complexity of cities and the fragility of earth; a humanist curious about everything (from art to music, people, communities, and food); an inexhaustible explorer of the world. And there is one more thing he could be: a poet.”

Centre Pompidou Paris:
Centre Pompidou Paris
photo Courtesy American Institute of Architects

Through his guidance and vision, his firm, London–based Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners, tackles projects that invigorate the environments they inhabit. Echoing the ideals found in the firm’s guiding constitution, the melding of craft and social mission resonate within every project. At New York’s 3 World Trade Center and Madrid-Barajas Airport, Rogers’ mastery of large urban buildings and his unique brand of architectural expression are on full display. Every project is meant to engage its inhabitants and users in deep conversations about how we use and perceive space.

Rogers has been celebrated with nearly every major architectural honor, including the 1985 RIBA Royal Gold Medal, the 2007 Pritzker Architecture Prize, and the RIBA Stirling Prize in 2006 and 2009. He was named a Praemium Architecture Laureate by the Japan Art Association in 2000 and was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II in 1991. He has sat as a Labour peer in England’s House of Lords since 1996.

Lloyds of London building:
Lloyds of London building
photo Courtesy American Institute of Architects

“We know that architecture is a discipline of enormous political and social consequence,” Lord Peter Palumbo of Walbrook wrote of Rogers. “And today we celebrate Richard Rogers, a humanist who reminds us that architecture is the most social of arts. Throughout his long, innovative careers, Rogers shows us that, perhaps, the architect’s most lasting role is that of a good citizen of the world.”

Over a career that has spanned five decades, Rogers has been the personification of an ideal architect: an incredibly talented designer whose work has had profound and lasting impact on the people and communities he has served.

Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners UK

2019 AIA Gold Medal Jury

The Gold Medal is conferred by the AIA Board of Directors and the AIA Strategic Council.

2019 Advisory Jury:

Kelly M. Hayes-McAlonie, FAIA, Chair, University of Buffalo, Buffalo, New York
Dan Hart, FAIA, Parkhill Smith & Cooper, Inc., Midland, Texas
Lori Krejci, AIA, Avant Architects, Inc., Omaha, Nebraska
Dr. Pamela R. Moran, Albemarle County Public Schools, Charlottesville, Virginia
Antoine Predock, FAIA, Antoine Predock Architects, Albuquerque, New Mexico
David B. Richards, FAIA, Rossetti, Detroit, Michigan
Emily A. Roush-Elliott, AIA, Delta DB, Greenwood, Mississippi
Rafael Viñoly-Menendez, AIA, LMN Architects, Seattle, Washington

Richard Rogers

The AIA also recognized Boston-based Payette as winner of the 2019 Firm Award. Founded in 1932, the 140-person US architecture practice, which takes building science as a central tenant, is led by a team of 10 partners.

“The importance and contribution here of Payette is that they are today taking some of the most energy intensive and technologically challenging building types we have to new levels of design and integrated performance,” wrote Stephen Kieran, supporting Payette’s nomination. “The breadth and depth of this transformation position Payette as a model for future practice.”

Richard Rogers Buildings

AIA Gold Medal

2016 AIA Gold Medal Winners – Denise Scott Brown & Robert Venturi:
Denise Scott Brown & Robert Venturi
photograph © Frank Hanswijk
Venturi, Scott Brown & Associates

AIA Gold Medal 2016 Winners

American Institute of Architects Gold Medal – 2012

American Institute of Architects 2012 Gold Medal Winner
Steven Holl architect

American Institute of Architects 2011 Gold Medal Winner
Fumihiko Maki architect

American Institute of Architects 2010 Gold Medal Winner
Peter Bohlin – founder Bohlin Cywinski Jackson Architects

American Institute of Architects 2009 Gold Medal Winner
Glenn Murcutt architect

American Institute of Architects 2005 Gold Medal Winner
Tadao Ando architect

AIA Gold Medal

Location: Washington D.C, USA

American Architecture Awards

American Architecture Awards

Pritzker Prize architects

American Institute of Architects Gold Medal 2008 : Renzo Piano

Architecture Awards

Stirling Prize

RIBA Gold Medal Award

WAF Awards

AIA New York Design Awards

Renzo Piano Building Workshop

Comments / photos for the American Institute of Architects Gold Medal 2019 Winner – Richard Rogers Architect page welcome