2020 LafargeHolcim Awards Competition, Architects Design Contest, Buildings Projects News

LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction 2020 News

International Architectural Contest – global prize in sustainable design

7 Jan 2020

The world’s most significant competition for sustainable design

LH Awards

Final call to enter USD 2 million LafargeHolcim Awards

LafargeHolcim Awards 2020

Zurich, Switzerland, January 7th, 2020 – Entries in the 6th International LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction will close on February 25, 2020. The competition seeks projects by professionals as well as bold ideas from the Next Generation that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural excellence.

The Awards foreground projects and concepts from architecture, engineering, urban planning, materials science, construction technology, and related fields.

LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction Trophies:
LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction Trophies

Organized by the LafargeHolcim Foundation, the world’s most significant competition in sustainable design takes place in parallel across five geographic regions – each with its own jury of renowned and independent specialists. The regional juries are headed by Jeannette Kuo, Karamuk Kuo Architects, Switzerland (Europe), Reed Kroloff, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA (North America), Loreta Castro Reguera, Taller Capital, Mexico (Latin America), Mariam Kamara, atelier masōmī, Niger (Middle East Africa) and Nirmal Kishnani, National University of Singapore (Asia Pacific).

North America winners on stage:
LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction North America winners

Two categories with different requirements

The main category of the competition is open to architects, planners, engineers, project owners, builders and construction firms showcasing sustainable responses within contemporary building and construction. Projects must have reached an advanced stage of design, have a high probability of execution, and may not have started construction before January 1, 2019.

Asia Pacific winners on stage:
LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction Asia Pacific winners

In addition, students and young professionals (aged 30 years or younger) may submit visionary concepts and bold ideas in the Next Generation category of the competition. Submissions may be at an early stage of design – including research and design studio work.

Entry in the competition is free and must be made in English using a web-based form:

LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction 2020 Jury:
LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction 2020 Jury

“Target issues” for sustainable construction

Submissions are evaluated according to five “target issues” for sustainable construction – that aim to clarify principles for sustaining the human habitat for future generations. The “target issues” cover innovation and transferability; ethical standards and social inclusion; resource and environmental performance; economic viability and compatibility; as well as contextual and aesthetic impact.

Protagonist Bergmann:
LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction in 2020 Protagonist Bergmann

Winners qualify for global LafargeHolcim Awards competition

The winners will be announced in the second half of 2020 at Awards ceremonies in each region. The main winners then compete for the global LafargeHolcim Awards in 2021, to be evaluated by a global jury headed by Hashim Sarkis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA and curator of the 2020 Venice Biennale of Architecture.

Film on YouTube

About the LafargeHolcim Foundation

Since 2003, the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction raises awareness of the important role that architecture, engineering, urban planning, and the building industry have in achieving a more sustainable future. The Foundation expresses the commitment of its sponsor LafargeHolcim to drive sustainability in building and construction. LafargeHolcim is the global leader in building materials and solutions.

Protagonist Chabani:
LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction in 2020 Protagonist Chabani

Useful Links

LafargeHolcim Awards information received 7th January 2020

Previously on e-architect:

LafargeHolcim Awards

LafargeHolcim Awards News

LafargeHolcim Awards Next Generation prizes 2021

LafargeHolcim Awards for Europe

LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction Contest

LafargeHolcim Awards Competition

Skystation in New York / kayak architects for LafargeHolcim Awards Competition

Project designed for Lafarge Holcim Competition in 2017:

LafargeHolcim Awards Competition Design

LafargeHolcim Awards Competition

LH Awards Logo

LH Awards

LH Awards

Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Holcim Foundation Awards

Holcim Awards

LafargeHolcim Next Generation Awards Lab

Holcim Awards 2012 : further information

Holcim Foundation Awards : winners from 2011

Architecture Awards

World Architecture Festival Awards

Europa Nostra Award

Pritzker Prize Architects

Comments / photos for the LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction Competition 2020 page welcome

Website: Holcim