Holcim Foundation Awards, Winners, Architects, Buildings, Projects News, Design

Holcim Awards 2012 : Architecture Competition

International Architectural Competition Prize News – Winners

29 Mar 2012

Holcim Awards Competition

Zurich/Switzerland, March 29, 2012

Overview of winners, finalists and jury members

All winners on stage following the Global and Regional Holcim Awards announcements – 6th cycle:
Holcim Awards 2012 Competition

Global Holcim Awards 2012 – Winners

Global Holcim Awards Gold 2012 – USD 200,000
Secondary school with passive ventilation system, Gando, Burkina Faso
Diébédo Francis Kéré, Kéré Architecture, Germany
Global Holcim Awards Silver 2012 – USD 100,000
Urban remediation and civic infrastructure hub, São Paulo Brazil
Alfredo Brillembourg and Hubert Klumpner, Urban-Think Tank, Brazil
Global Holcim Awards Bronze 2012 – USD 50,000
Urban renewal and swimming-pool precinct, Berlin, Germany
Jan and Tim Edler, realities united, Germany

Holcim Awards : main page

Global Holcim Awards 2012 – Finalists

Belgium: City hall and civic center recycled from former factory, Oostkamp
Carlos Arroyo, Carlos Arroyo Arquitectos, Spain
Canada: Regional food-gathering nodes and logistics network, Iqaluit, Nunavut
Mason White and Lola Sheppard, Lateral Office, Canada
Chile: Sustainable post-tsunami reconstruction master plan, Constitución
Alejandro Aravena, ELEMENTAL S.A., Chile
Italy: Lifestyle apartments and infrastructure recycled from former freeway viaducts, near Scilla
Philippe Rizzotti, Philippe Rizzotti Architects, France
Malaysia: Ecologically-designed retail and commercial building, Putrajaya
Kenneth Yeang, T. R. Hamzah & Yeang International Sdn. Bhd., Malaysia
Mexico: Urban regeneration master plan, Ciudad Juárez
Jose Castillo, arquitectura 911sc, Mexico
Morocco: Training center for sustainable construction, Marrakesh
Anna Heringer, Architect, Germany
Pakistan: Locally-manufactured cob and bamboo school building, Jar Maulwi
Eike Roswag, Ziegert Roswag Seiler Architekten Ingenieure, Germany
Palestine: Sustainable refurbishment of a primary school, near Al Azarije
Claudia Romano, ARCò – Architettura e Cooperazione, Italy
Thailand: Urban agriculture and factory conversion, Bangkok
Isavaret Tamonut, TTH Trading Co., Ltd, Thailand
USA: Energy and water efficient border control station, Van Buren, Maine
Julie Snow, Julie Snow Architects, USA
USA: Zero net energy school building, Los Angeles
Gloria Lee, Swift Lee Office, USA

Global Holcim Awards 2012 – Jury members

• Enrique Norten, architect (Head), Principal and Founder, TEN Arquitectos, Mexico/USA
• Maria Atkinson, administrator, Group Head of Sustainability, Lend Lease and Managing Director, Sustainability Solutions, Australia
• Aaron Betsky, architect/critic, Director, Cincinnati Art Museum, USA
• Mario Botta, architect, Principal, Mario Botta Architetto, Switzerland
• Yolanda Kakabadse, administrator, President of WWF International and Chair of the Advisory Board of Fundación Futuro Latinoamericano, Ecuador
• Julia Marton-Lefèvre, administrator, Director General, IUCN, France/Switzerland
• Rahul Mehrotra, architect, Principal, Rahul Mehrotra Associates, India
• Hans-Rudolf Schalcher, civil engineer, Professor em. for Planning and Management in Construction at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zurich), Switzerland
• Werner Sobek, civil engineer, Director of the Institute for Lightweight Structures and Conceptual Design (ILEK) at the University of Stuttgart, Germany
• Rolf Soiron, administrator, Chairman, Holcim, Switzerland

Global Holcim Innovation prize 2012 – Winners

Global Holcim Innovation 1st prize – USD 75,000
High-efficiency concrete formwork technology, Zurich, Switzerland
Matthias Kohler, Gramazio & Kohler, Architektur und Digitale Fabrikation, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Global Holcim Innovation 2nd prize – USD 50,000
Low-cost apartments incorporating smart materials, Hamburg, Germany
Frank Barkow, Barkow Leibinger Architects, Germany
Global Holcim Innovation 3rd prize – USD 25,000
Efficient fabrication system for geometrically complex building elements, London, United Kingdom
Povilas Cepaitis, AA School of Architecture, United Kingdom

Global Holcim Innovation prize 2012 – Finalists

All 53 prize-winning projects at the regional level (including 38 Acknowledgement and “Next Generation” winners) were finalists in the Global Holcim Innovation competition, and are listed by region at: http://www.holcimawards.org/regional2011

Global Holcim Innovation prize 2012 – Jury members

• Harry Gugger, architect (Head), Principal, Harry Gugger Studio; Professor of Architecture, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland
• Markus Akermann, economist, former CEO, Holcim, Switzerland
• Bernard Fontana, engineer, CEO, Holcim, France/Switzerland
• Sujit Ghosh, civil engineer, CEO, Holcim Singapore, Singapore
• Vanderley M John, civil engineer, Associate Professor, Department of Civil Construction Engineering, Universidade de São Paulo (USP), Brazil
• Roland Köhler, economist, Member of the Executive Committee, Holcim, Switzerland
• Hans-Rudolf Schalcher, civil engineer, Professor em. for Planning and Management in Construction, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zurich), Switzerland
• Stuart Smith, structural engineer, Director, Arup Group, UK

Holcim Awards Competition winners information from Holcim Foundation

Holcim Awards : 2011

Location: Zurich, Switzerland, central Europe

Architecture Awards

Stirling Prize

Pritzker Prize architects

Mies van der Rohe Awards

LEAF Awards

Contemporary Architectural Designs

Architecture Awards

Architecture Walking Tours Europe

Ispace Installation, Rossa, Moesa Region, Graubünden, Switzerland
Design: Davide Macullo Architects
Ispace Installation Rossa
photo : Corrado Griggi
Ispace Installation Rossa

Weltpostpark site buildings, Bern, Switzerland
Design: SSA Architekten, Basel, Switzerland
Weltpostpark residential buildings Bern
photograph © Ruedi Walti
Weltpostpark residential buildings Bern

Comments / photos for the Holcim Awards Competition 2012 page welcome