European Prize for Architecture 2012, Winner, Architects, Prize, Dates, Deadline

The European Prize for Architecture

Architectural Awards – Winners

European Prize Architecture : current winner news

1 Oct 2012

The European Prize for Architecture Winners in 2012

2012 European Prize for Architecture

The Chicago Athenaeum and The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies announce that two young Norwegian architects, Andreas G. Gjertsen and Yashar Hanstad, principals of the architecture cooperative, TYIN tegnestue Architects in Trondheim, Norway, have been named as this year’s winners of The European Prize for Architecture for their humanitarian work designing and building with community participation in poor and underdeveloped areas in Africa and Asia.

Soe Ker Tie House Thailand - European Prize for Architecture 2012
photo : Pasi Aalto /

The nomination and the award confirm The European Prize for Architecture’s direction in supporting those influential European architects who are blazoning a more humanist and social-based architecture and recognizing their pursuits and their achievements before a European and world audience.

The Prize is given to rare architects who have demonstrated a significant contribution to humanity and to the built environment through the art of architecture. A formal ceremony for what has come to be known throughout the world as European ar-chitecture’s highest honor will be held in New York the second week of November.

The European Prize is given every year as a collaborative effort between The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design and The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies.

Previous Laureates of The European Prize for Architecture include: The Danish architect, Bjarke Ingels (2010) and the German architects, Graft Architekten (2011).

“This young Norwegian firm,” states Christian K. Narkiewicz-Laine, Museum President of The Chicago Athenaeum, “clearly understands the basic needs of the people for whom architecture must serve. ‘Serve’ is the key word here. This is not a glamorous architecture, but nonetheless, the most profound and noble in its attributes.

Our institutions are not so interested in the newest skyscrapers gracing the shores of Dubai or the Champs-Élysées in Paris.” “The European Prize,” he continues,” reaffirms our own institution’s commit-ment to finding and sup-porting a more humanistic approach to the practice of architectural design today.”

“Architecture should be a vehicle for social change, social improvement, and real cultural development,” continues Mr. Narkiewicz-Laine, “and not an end result of over-commercialization, over-consumption, and self- aggrandizement which is so overwhelmingly apparent in our contemporary world.”

“Such self-less pursuits in helping other nations solve the difficult problems of their environment, their ecology, their economic hardship, while building and supporting their local communities, as TYIN Architects have demonstrated,” Mr. Narkiewicz-Laine contin-ues, “are the most I mportant direction of our future architecture today.”

European Prize for Architecture winner in 2012 – TYIN tegnestue Architects

Architecture by TYIN tegnestue Architects

Klong Toey Community Lantern, Bangkok, Thailand
TYIN tegnestue Architects
Klong Toey Community Lantern
photo : Pasi Aalto /
Klong Toey Community Lantern

Naust paa Aure, More og Romsdal, Norway
TYIN tegnestue Architects
Naust paa Aure
photo : Pasi Aalto /
Naust paa Aure

Soe Ker Tie House, Noh Bo, Tak, Thailand
TYIN tegnestue Architects
Soe Ker Tie House
photo : Pasi Aalto /
Soe Ker Tie House

Location: Dublin, Ireland, north west Europe

Europe 40 Under 40 Award 2011

Europe 40 Under 40
image from Europe 40 Under 40
Europe 40 Under 40

European Architecture

Architecture Awards

Stirling Prize
photo : Roland Halbe

Pritzker Prize architects
Serpentine Gallery Pavilion SANAA
image © Nick Weall

Website: European Prize for Architecture News

European Architecture Awards

Europa Nostra Award – winner news
St Martin-in-the-Fields building
photos © Timothy Soar

European Copper Architecture Awards
Chapel of St. Lawrence
photo © Tuomas Uusheimo

European Architecture Competition : 2nd European Prize for Urban Public Space met in Barcelona
Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona
photo © Adrian Welch

European Hotel Awards

For further information on the European Prize for Architecture, contact The European Centre at [email protected]

28 Butler’s Court, Sir John Rogerson Quay Dublin 2 Ireland TEL/FAX +353/(0) 1 6708781
46-48 Vassiliou Megalou GR-118-54 Rouf Athens Greece TEL/FAX +30/210-9413717

Comments / photos for the European Prize for Architecture 2012 page welcome

Website: European Prize for Architecture