Australian Urban Design Awards Shortlist 2017, Architects News, Architecture Prize

Australian Urban Design Awards 2017

Architecture Media Event at State Library of Queensland, Brisbane, on 25 October 2017

6 Sep 2017

2017 Australian Urban Design Awards

Australian Urban Design Awards 2017 Shortlist


From a pool of seventy-one entries, thirty-three projects have been shortlisted in the 2017 Australian Urban Design Awards, the nation’s premier awards for excellence and innovation in urban design.

The awards recognize contemporary Australian urban design of the highest quality and encourage cities, towns and communities across the country to strive for best practice.

The Australian Urban Design Awards program was established as the Australia Award for Urban Design in 1996 and was created by then-prime minister Paul Keating’s Urban Design Task Force. Malcolm Turnbull, prime minister of Australia, and Lucy Turnbull, former lord mayor of Sydney and chief commissioner of the Greater Sydney Commission, are both patrons of the awards. Past patrons include former prime ministers Julia Gillard and Kevin Rudd.

On the jury was Jon Clements (director, Jackson Clements Burrows), Malcolm Snow (chief executive, National Capital Authority), Jill Garner (Victorian Government Architect), Neil Savery (general manager, Australian Building Codes Board), Cindy Varnier (infrastructure sustainability consultant, GHD), Tim Hunt (Melbourne leader, lighting, Arup), Davina Knox (senior sustainability consultant, WSP) and William Chandler (director, Chandler Consulting Services).

Commendations and winners will be revealed at the awards celebration at the State Library of Queensland, Brisbane, on 25 October 2017.

The Australian Urban Design Awards are organized by Architecture Media and convened by the Planning Institute of Australia with the support of the Australian Institute of Architects, the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects, the Government Architects Network Australia, the Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council, Consult Australia, Engineers Australia and the Green Building Council of Australia.

The principal partner is Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia, with supporting partners PTA Landscapes, Holcim, Wood Solutions and Christie.
Awards tickets can be purchased at

2017 Australian Urban Design Awards shortlist

Delivered outcome – large scale
Elizabeth Quay – Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority, ARM Architecture and Taylor Cullity Lethlean (WA)
EY Centre, 200 George Street – FJMT in collaboration with Mirvac (NSW)
Junction Place, Wodonga – ASPECT Studios, City of Wodonga (Vic)
Maitland Levee – McGregor Coxall, CHROFI, Northrop, City Plan Heritage, MBM, MGAC, JBA, Alluvium (NSW)
Soho Village – Clarke Hopkins Clarke (Vic)
Tonsley Innovation District – Oxigen, Woods Bagot, KBR, WSP, Tridente Architects and RenewalSA (SA)

Delivered outcome – small scale
Bowden Town Square – Aspect Studios (SA)
Brooke Street Pier – Ireneinc Planning and Urban Design (Tas)
Fitzroy Gardens Redevelopment – City of Melbourne, City Design Studio (Vic)
Henley Square Redevelopment – TCL and Troppo Architects (SA)
Monash University Caulfield Campus Green – TCL (Vic)
Orange Regional Museum – Crone (NSW)
Sixth Street Revitalization Project – Jensen Plus and The Rural City of Murray Bridge (SA)
Tanderrum Bridge – John Wardle Architects and NADAAA in collaboration (Vic)
Windsor Plaza – ASPECT Studios, City of Stonnington (Vic)
Wynyard Walk – Woods Bagot (NSW)

Policies, programs and concepts – large scale
Better Placed – An integrated design policy for the built environment of New South Wales – Government Architect New South Wales (NSW)
Future Parade – K2K Kensington to Kingsford Town Centres – JBA, Stewart Hollenstein, Arcadia, Jess Scully, Transport Planning Partnership (NSW)
Hyper Active Transport: A Road to Rapid Decarbonisation – Peter Willett Associates
K2K (Kensington to Kingsford Town Centres) – JMD design, Hill Thalis, Bennett and Trimble (NSW)
New World City Design Guide: Buildings that Breathe – Brisbane City Council in collaboration with Urbis and Arkhefield (Qld)
Rockhampton Riverside and CBD Redevelopment – Urbis (Qld)
Smart Seeds – GHD
Sydney Light Rail: Urban Renewal Strategy and Reference Design – Hassell (NSW)
Sydney Metro Northwest: Urban Design and Corridor Landscape Plan – Hassell (NSW)
Transport for NSW Urban Design Guidelines – Transport for New South Wales Precincts and Urban Design team (NSW)
Western Metropolitan Regional Trails Strategic Plan – Fitzgerald Frisby Landscape Architecture (Vic)

Policies, programs and concepts – small scale
Fremantle 2029 Transformational Moves – Cox Architecture and City of Fremantle (WA)
Montario Quarter – LandCorp Urbis (WA)
Parramatta Civic Link – SJB and ASPECT Studios (NSW)
Telopea Master Plan – Urbis (NSW)
The Freo Alternative – Australian Urban Design Research Centre (WA)
Urban Design Framework for the ANU Union Court and University Avenue Precinct – Civitas Urban Design and Planning (ACT)

Australian Urban Design Awards 2017 Shortlist images / information received 050917


Australian Architectural Design Awards

Australian Design Awards Selection

Australian Interior Design Awards Winners – Premier Award winner – Indigo Slam NSW house:
Indigo Slam NSW house |
photo : David Roche
Australian Interior Design Awards Winners – 10 Jun 2017

Australian Interior Design Awards

Australian Institute of Architects National Architecture Awards
ANZ Centre
picture from LEAF Awards

Australia Award for Urban Design

New South Wales Architecture Awards

South Australian Architecture Awards

New South Wales Architecture Awards

Australia Architecture Designs – chronological list

Australian Architecture
Sydney Opera House
photo © Derek McGavigan, 2010

Australian Architect

American Institute of Architects Gold Medal

RIBA Gold Medal Award

Interior Designs

New Zealand Architecture

New Zealand Architects

Comments / photos for the Australian Urban Design Awards 2017 Shortlist page welcome

Australian Urban Design Awards 2017 Shortlist