Wellington Parliament Building, New Zealand Executive Architecture, Architect, Design, Pictures

Wellington Parliament Building – The Beehive

Key National Building in Wellington design by Scottish architect Basil Spence

15 Aug 2007

The Beehive Building

Wellington Parliament Building Executive Wing
Dates built: 1970-80/81
Design: Basil Spence architect; executed by Wellington Government designers

The Beehive Wellington Parliament Building Executive Wing

The Beehive is 10 storeys high

Location: Molesworth St / Lambton Quay

Wellington Parliament Building New Zealand steps

There are four buildings in Wellington that house New Zealand’s Parliament. They are Parliament House, the Parliamentary Library, the Beehive (also known as the Executive Wing), and Bowen House.

Photos from Aug 2007 by architect Adrian Welch:

Wellington Parliament The Beehive Wellington New Zealand Parliament New Zealand Parliament Building

The New Zealand Parliament Buildings house the New Zealand Parliament and are on a 45,000 square metre site at the northern end of Lambton Quay, Wellington.

They consist of the Edwardian neoclassical-style Parliament House (1922); the Parliamentary Library (1899); the executive wing, called “The Beehive” (1979); and Bowen House, in use since 1991. Whilst most of the individual buildings are outstanding for different reasons, the overall setting that has been achieved “has little aesthetic or architectural coherence”.

Old building north of main Parliament Building:
New Zealand Parliament Building


Location: Molesworth St, Wellington, New Zealand

New Zealand Architecture

Contemporary New Zealand Buildings

New Zealand Architecture Designs – chronological list

New Zealand Architect Office

Wellington Buildings

Government Buildings

Wellington Botanic Gardens

Wellington Harbour Buildings

Comments / photos for The Beehive Building – Wellington Parliament Architecture page welcome