Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate Winner, Toyo Ito Architect, News

Praemium Imperiale 2010

Japan Art Association Award 2010 – Winner : architect Toyo Ito

4 Oct 2010

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2010

Toyo Ito wins Praemium Imperiale

The architect was awarded the Japanese Art Association’s Praemium Imperiale architecture laureate for 2010.

Born in Japan in 1941, Toyo Ito graduated from Tokyo University, Department of Architecture in 1965.

Toyo Ito started his own architecture studio, ‘urban robot’ (urbot) in Tokyo, 1971; it became Toyo Ito & Associates, Architects in 1979.

A key design by Toyo Ito was the Serpentine Pavilion, London, in 2001 with Arup:

Serpentine Pavilion Toyo Ito
photograph © 2007 Deborah Bullen

Toyo Ito has served as guest professor at Columbia University and is an honorary professor at the University of North London.

Toyo Ito is one of the world’s most innovative and influential architects. His key building is the Sendai Mediatheque in Japan.

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2010 winner : Toyo Ito

Venice Biennale Toyo Ito
photograph © Adrian Welch
Venice Biennale Arsenale Pavilion – model by Toyo Ito

Location:Tokyo, Japan

Praemium Imperiale Winners

Praemium Imperiale 2009

Praemium Imperiale 2011

Japanese Buildings

Japanese Architecture Designs

The Praemium Imperiale (lit. “World Culture Prize in Memory of His Imperial Highness Prince Takamatsu”, Japanese: 高松宮殿下記念世界文化賞, Takamatsu no miya denka kinen sekai bunka-shō) is an international art prize awarded since 1989 by the Imperial family of Japan on behalf of the Japan Art Association in the fields of painting, sculpture, architecture, music, and theatre/film. These are areas of achievement not covered by the Nobel Prize. The prizes are awarded for outstanding contributions to the development, promotion and progress of the arts.

Website: Architecture

Architecture Awards

Stirling Prize

Aga Khan Award for Architecture Prize

RIBA Royal Gold Medal

Toyo Ito Architect

Comments / photos for the Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2010 page welcome

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2010