Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate Winner, Zaha Hadid Architect News

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2009

Japan Art Association Award 2009 Winner : architect Zaha Hadid

24 Sep 2009

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate in 2009

Zaha Hadid awarded the Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate for 2009 by Japan Art Association

Zaha Hadid - Praemium Imperiale 2009 Winner
picture from architects

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate : main page

It is indeed an honour to receive this recognition from the Japan Art Association.” said Hadid. “Working in Japan has been critical to the development of my work around the world. I will always be grateful for this support early in my career. My Japanese clients shared a passion for architecture – allowing us to investigate many things and design very powerful projects, interesting in their complexity and essential in developing our repertoire of work. Through our architecture, we can enthuse people and make them excited about new ideas.”

The other Praemium Imperiale Laureates for 2009 are: Painting – Hiroshi Sugimoto; Sculpture – Richard Long; Music – Alfred Brendel; Theatre/Film: Tom Stoppard.

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2009 winner : Zaha Hadid

On October 22nd the Laureates will travel to Japan to attend the Awards Ceremony, presided over by the honorary patron of the Japan Art Association, Prince Hitachi, younger brother of the present Emperor of Japan.

Previous Laureates include David Hockney, James Stirling, Anthony Caro, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Richard Attenborough, John Gielgud, Peter Brook, Richard Rogers, Tony Cragg, Norman Foster, Bridget Riley and Richard Hamilton.

Zaha Hadid Architects

Location: Tokyo, Japan, eastern Asia

Japanese Building Design by Zaha Hadid Architects

Kasumigaoka National Stadium Tokyo
Kasumigaoka National Stadium Tokyo
image © Courtesy of Zaha Hadid Architects
Kasumigaoka National Stadium Tokyo by ZHA
Zaha Hadid Architects: “It is disappointing that the two years of work and investment in the existing design for a new National Stadium for Japan cannot be further developed to meet the new brief through the new design competition.

Praemium Imperiale Winners

Praemium Imperiale Architecture

Praemium Imperiale 2010

Praemium Imperiale 2011

Japanese Architects

Japanese Architecture

Architecture Awards

Contemporary Architecture

Stirling Prize

Mies van der Rohe Awards

RIBA Royal Gold Medal

Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2011 winner : Ricardo Legorreta

Zaha Hadid Architecture

Zaha Hadid Architecture

Xi’an International Football Centre, Xi’an
Design: Zaha Hadid Architects
Xi’an International Football Centre Zaha Hadid Architects China
render by Atchain
Xi’an International Football Centre

Architecture Walking Tours Europe

Comments / photos for the Praemium Imperiale Architecture Laureate 2009 page welcome