International Troldtekt Award 2014 for Students of Architecture, Design Prize, Buildings

Troldtekt Award 2014

Architectural Prize Information – Jury News

21 Feb 2014

International Troldtekt Award 2014 Jury announcement

Troldtekt Award 2014 now launched

Honour, glory and cash are at stake as Troldtekt A/S invites architectural and design students from all over the world to participate in the Troldtekt Award 2014. The most creative idea for using the company’s acoustic panels in a different and imaginative way wins a cash prize of EUR 5,000. The deadline for registering for the competition is 1 April 2014.

Troldtekt Award 2014 1

International Troldtekt Award 2014 News

For the third time, Troldtekt A/S is challenging young talents to propose new ways of using its classic Danish-produced acoustic panels in the concept competition Troldtekt Award 2014. The competition last took place in 2012, when Troldtekt received entries from 23 countries. The 2012 competition was awarded to Matthias Kisch from the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts in Copenhagen who won EUR 5,000 for his Acoustic Synecdoche project, an acoustic cloud sculpture with the option of integrated lighting. The judges also presented a special supplementary prize to Amy Linford from Newcastle University for her (Fabric)ated project.

Not constrained by product benefits

“The Troldtekt panel is a traditional and natural acoustic ceiling product made of Danish wood and cement. However, it is also very flexible which means it can be cut to size and used in completely new ways. In 2010 and 2012, the students competing for the Troldtekt Award came up with a host of creative ideas. Consequently, we are thrilled to be launching this year’s competition,” comments Peer Leth, CEO of Troldtekt A/S.

“The key benefits of our product are good acoustics and a sustainable indoor climate. However, competition entrants have completely free hands, so there is no need for them to focus on either of these aspects,” he adds.

Three international architects on the judges’ committee
To assess the entries, Troldtekt has appointed an international jury which includes the Danish architect Mikkel Frost from CEBRA a/s (Aarhus), the Dutch architect Bjarne Mastenbroek from SeARCH architects (Amsterdam) and the Spanish architect Jorge Vidal from Rahola Vidal Architects (Barcelona).

Troldtekt Award 2014 2

“Troldtekt is a household name in Denmark where it is viewed as a reliable building material like bricks. However, this sometimes means that you can become a bit staid in your approach to using the panels. Consequently, the whole idea of the Troldtekt Award is to discover new angles and innovations that go beyond conventional applications,” comments Mikkel Frost, who also served on the judges’ committee in 2012.

He continues “What we are looking for are ideas that are creative, yet which can still be produced in real life. Of course, it is this balance between originality and realism which is at the crux of excellent design.”
The deadline for registering for the Troldtekt Award is 1 April 2014. Project proposals must then be uploaded on the competition website by 30 April 2014.

• Bjarne Mastenbroek, architect, founder of SeARCH architects, Amsterdam
• Jorge Vidal, architect, co-founder of Rahola Vidal Architects, Barcelona
• Mikkel Frost, architect, co-founder and partner of CEBRA A/S
• Peer Leth, CEO, Troldtekt A/S
• Niels Kappel, product developer, Troldtekt

Peer Leth, CEO, Troldtekt A/S
T: +45 87 47 81 00 / E: [email protected]

Location: Copenhagen, Denmark, northern Europe

Architectural Design

European Architecture

Contemporary Interiors

European Copper Architecture Awards

Stirling Prize

Architecture in Europe

Museo de al Memoria de Andalucía, Granada, southern Spain
Alberto Campo Baeza
Andalusia Museum of Memory
photo : Javier Callejas
Museo de al Memoria de Andalucía

Centro Niemeyer, Avilés
Oscar Niemeyer architect
Centro Niemeyer
photo : Ángel Navarrete
Centro Niemeyer

Pritzker Prize architects

Comments / photos for the Troldtekt Award 2014 page welcome

International Troldtekt Award 2014 for Students of Architecture page