Scottish Civic Trust Awards 2009 News, Scotland Buildings, Architects, Photo, Practices

Scottish Civic Trust Awards 2009

Scottish Winners: UK Architecture – 2009

2 Nov 2010

Scottish Civic Trust My Place Awards 2011

New category of “Civic Champion” announced

Promoting the importance of place and place-making, the Scottish Civic Trust My Place Awards is looking for Scotland’s best places and its “Civic Champions”.

The My Place Award 2011 will be presented to the project that successfully contributes to making local places better. In addition The Scottish Civic Trust My Place Awards “Civic Champion” will be presented to an individual, nominated by their local civic society, who has made a significant contribution to improving and promoting their local community and built heritage. The new category gives the Scottish Civic Trust the opportunity to celebrate the work of individuals who actively care for and believe in the importance of their communities.

Chairing the judging panel is Roland Kennedy, trustee of the Scottish Civic Trust. He is joined by fellow trustees Alistair Scott, director of architects Smith Scott Mullan Associates and Angus Kerr, architect;& Isobel Leckie, West Crosscauseway Association and Fiona Sinclair, president of Glasgow Institute of Architects.

John Pelan, Director of the Trust said:
“The Scottish Civic Trust Awards are unique in Scotland in that they are nominated by local people from civic societies and groups around the country dedicated to the protection and improvement of their cities, towns and villages. Our new category of “Civic Champion” recognises the important and often overlooked work of individuals who work tirelessly for the betterment of our built environment.”

Supporting the Scottish Civic Trust My Place Awards initiative, Culture Minister Fiona Hyslop said:
“The My Place Awards have a special value, focusing on projects nominated by local communities. The addition of the new Civic Champion category builds further on the community focus of the Awards and emphasises the important contribution of those who act selflessly to make our built environment a better place for all.”

The winner of the first Scottish Civic Trust My Place Awards in 2010 was the beautiful and imaginative restoration of the historic ‘B’ listed Castlemilk House Stables Block in Glasgow, originally designed in 1790.

Full details about the Scottish Civic Trust My Place Awards can be found at

Entry is free. The closing date for submission of nominations is Monday 14 January 2011. The Awards will be presented at a ceremony in Glasgow in March 2011.

2009 Scottish Civic Trust Awards

Special Award Winners
Titan Crane, Clydebank – Scottish Placemaking Award

Award Winners
New Cancer Research Facility, Beatson Institute
Cancer Research Facility
photograph © Paul Zanre

Culloden Battlefield Memorial Centre
Culloden Battlefield Visitor Centre
photo © Andrew Lee
Restoration of Garrison House & Grounds
Garrison House
photo : Keith Hunter
St Andrew Square, Edinburgh
Stanley Mills, Perthshire

Eden Court Theatre and Cinemas
Eden Theatre
photo : Keith Hunter
Heart of Hawick

Civic Trust Awards 2009 : information from BDP Architects

Location: Scotland

Architecture in Scotland

Scottish Architecture Designs – chronological list

Civic Trust Awards

Civic Trust Awards Scotland 2002

Saltire Awards

Scottish Architecture

RIBA Awards

Stirling Prize

BCO Awards

Scottish Architect

Comments / photos for the Scottish Civic Trust Awards 2009 page welcome

Visit Scotland