Civic Trust Scotland, Architecture, Building Design, Categories, Entry, Address, Contact

Civic Trust Awards: Architecture

British Building Prize, UK

Civic Trust Awards Scotland

Contact: [email protected]

What are the Civic Trust Awards?

The Civic Trust Awards Scotland scheme is one of the largest and most respected architecture and environmental design award schemes in Europe. Unlike other award schemes, the Civic Trust Awards celebrate not only design excellence, but also focus on the relationship between projects and the environment and community in which they are set.

There are four categories of Civic Trust Awards:

– Special Awards, which are sponsored, are given to projects that are outstanding in particular ways such as urban design or sustainability

– Awards, given to projects that reach the highest standards in terms of both their design and their contribution to their environment or community

– Commendations, for projects of an extremely high standard, but not quite worthy of an award

– Mentions, for projects that bring social, economic or cultural benefits to their communities

When can I enter?
The Civic Trust Awards are run on a two-year cycle, alternating between the UK’s major cities and rural areas. The next round of Awards will be the 2004 Civic Trust Awards, which will cover the major cities and metropolitan areas of the UK. Entry forms will be available in early summer 2003 and the deadline for entries will be in mid-September. The winners of the 2004 Civic Trust Awards will be announced in April 2004. The 2005 Civic Trust Awards will then focus on the countryside and county country towns of the UK.

What is eligible for a Civic Trust Award?
Civic Trust Awards are given to outstanding projects in the fields of architecture, planning, environmental design, landscape, public art and urban design. Entries are invited from schemes of all types and sizes.

To be eligible for the 2004 Awards, projects must be located in one of the major cities or metropolitan areas of the UK and must have been completed between 1 January 2001 and 30 September 2003. Entries located in the countryside or one of the country towns of the UK, not included in the 2003 Awards, will be eligible to enter the 2005 Awards. To check if a project is eligible, contact the Awards Office.

Who can enter for a Civic Trust Award?
Entries can be made by anyone closely connected with a project, so long as the permission of the owner and occupier of the scheme has been obtained prior to entering.

How to enter the Civic Trust Awards
To request a 2004 entry form or to be put on our mailing list in order to receive entry forms in the future, please write to: Civic Trust Awards Office, Civic Trust, 17 Carlton House Terrace, London

Civic Trust Awards – 2003 PR

Scottish Civic Trust

Scottish Civic Trust Awards 2009

Scottish Civic Trust Director

Scottish Civic Trust Action Plan

Location: Scotland, UK

Architecture in Scotland

Contemporary Architecture in Scotland

Scottish Architecture Designs – chronological list

Architecture Walking Tours by e-architect

Scottish Architecture

Scottish Landscape Architecture

Scottish Natural Heritage

Historic Scottish House

Scottish Castles

Scottish Architect

HALO Masterplan in Kilmarnock, Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire, Southwest Scotland
Architects: Keppie Design
HALO Kilmarnock building model
image courtesy of architects
HALO Masterplan Kilmarnock

Hawkhead Centre, Paisley, Southwest Scotland
Design: Page \ Park Architects
Hawkhead Centre in Paisley
photo : Keith Hunter
Hawkhead Centre in Paisley

Comments for Civic Trust Architecture – Scottish Building Awards news page welcome

Website: Scottish Civic Trust