Bespoke Access Awards 2018, RIBA Accessible Hotel Competition, Architect, News

Bespoke Access Awards

RIBA Contest – International: Accessible Hotel Room Design

6 Jan 2018

Bespoke Access Awards, RIBA Competition

Bespoke Access Awards 2017/18

Deadline extended for international design competition for fully accessible hotel rooms, with a prize fund of £30,000.

Paralympic Gold Medalist Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson and RIBA Stirling Prize-winning architect Alan Stanton OBE amongst competition judges.

The deadline for the Bespoke Access Awards competition has been extended to Tuesday 27 February 2018.

Bespoke Access Awards, RIBA Competition
photo courtesy of RIBA

The Awards, run by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA), in association with Bespoke Hotels, are an international competition to design fully accessible hotel rooms, to continue improving access to properties worldwide for disabled people, including those with learning difficulties, as well as all other guests. The Awards aim to challenge the perception of hotel facilities set aside for disabled people, which can often be viewed as joyless, poorly-designed and over-medicalised.

The Bespoke Access Awards were established in 2016 and were the first of their kind. In their opening year, teams of designers from countries as far afield as Hong Kong, Russia and Canada submit entries across a range of categories. The overall winners, awarded the Celia Thomas Prize worth £20,000, were Motionspot & Ryder Architecture, who devised ‘AllGo’, a unique, universalised approach to hotel room design system to ensure that all hotel rooms are functional, flexible and accessible.

Bespoke Access Awards RIBA Competition 2018
photo courtesy of RIBA

Bespoke Access Awards Scope

The scope of the competition has been broadened for its second year to cover five strands of inclusive design: Architecture, Product Design, Service Applications (digital), Service Applications (training), and Inclusive Employment.

Prizes will be awarded for the most imaginative, innovative and potentially realisable ideas in any or all of these strands, with the overall winner of the Celia Thomas Prize receiving £20,000.

The competition aims to reward entrants who address guests’ experience from the front door to any room or service within a hotel; it includes the process undertaken before a visitor arrives, or during check out.

The Paralympic Gold Medalist and Peer Baroness Grey-Thompson, whose interest in design was fostered by her father, an architect, will judge the competition together with the distinguished architect Alan Stanton, winner of the 2012 RIBA Stirling Prize for Architecture. Alongside them will be Robin Sheppard, Chairman of Bespoke Hotels and Hotel Sector Champion for Disabled People; Baroness Celia Thomas, Patron of the Access Awards Graeme K Whipper MBE, Disability Specialist for Channel 4; Alastair Hignall CBE, Trustee of the Leonard Cheshire Foundation; Sarah Weir OBE, Chief Executive of Design Council; and Paul Gregory, MCIBSE, MSLL, Global Specification Director for Dyson.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony on 18 April 2018.

Entries are open internationally to everyone. The organisers particularly welcome entries from designers and architects with disabilities themselves. Collaboration between people with disabilities and design professionals is also encouraged, as is collaboration amongst design disciplines.

Robin Sheppard, Chairman of Bespoke Hotels and Hotel Sector Champion for Disabled People, said:

“Once again, we have been thrilled by both the quality of interest and diversity of their origin, and are pleased to be able to extend this opportunity further. The competition continues to provide inspiration and spark the creativity of budding designers and architects across the world. On behalf of the panel, I am looking ahead with keen interest to selecting the latest round of winning ideas.”

Bespoke Access Awards Competition

Bespoke Access Awards Background

Bespoke Hotels, formed in 2000, represents over 170 properties worldwide. It is the UK’s largest independent hotel group. Ranging from specialist golfing hotels to award-winning spa resorts and chic city centre properties, the group prides itself on its individualised management style.

Design Council are recognized as a leading authority on the use of strategic design to drive societal change, advising the UK government and addressing all aspects of design, from product to user experience

Leonard Cheshire Foundation is a charity supporting disabled people across the UK and around the world, providing care, leading campaigns, as well as developing skills through employment and volunteering opportunities.

Awards administrators: The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment.

Competition enquiries: [email protected] | +44 (0)113 203 1490

Bespoke Hotels

RIBA Competitions


Location: London

Architecture Competitions – Selection

San Pardo Architecture Competition, Matera, Italy
San Pardo Architecture Contest
image from design contest organisers
Nemesis Group Architecture Competition

Article 25 Research Architecture Competition, Haiti
Haiti Earthquake Zone reconstruction
photo by Wayne Rowe, ©
Article 25 Research Architecture Competition

Eisteddfod Architecture Competition, Wales
Eisteddfod Architecture Pavilion Competition

alterMALL Architecture Competition, International
alterMALL architecture competition
image from design contest organisers
alterMALL Competition : opengap Design Contest news

Leipzig Architecture Contest, Germany
Leipzig demonstration
photo © LTS-Kühne
Leipzig Architecture Competition : Monument to Freedom and Unity

Comments / photos for the Bespoke Access Awards CompetitionRIBA Contest page welcome

Bespoke Access Awards, RIBA Competition – page