WA Community Awards: Buildings, Architects Prize

WA Awards, Buildings, Projects, News, Architectural Design, Property, Image

WA Community Awards : International Architecture Prize

Architectural Prize – Winners : 6th Cycle of WA Awards

4 Jan 2010

20+10+X Architecture Awards 6th Cycle

The aim of the WA Community Awards is to highlight and publish remarkable projects that might otherwise remain unnoticed by the international public yet have the potential to inspire exciting questions about contemporary architectural discourse.

ALL PROJECTS uploaded to the portal are considered as candidates for WA Awards, so we invite architects, architecture students from ALL COUNTRIES to submit their buildings (realized or not) of ANY TYPE for the appreciation of the WA Community.

All projects submitted or updated by their architects after 21 August 2009 will be evaluated for the WA Awards 6th Cycle.


What is distinctive about WA Awards
WA is an “online community” initiated by Suha Özkan and 200+ invited Honorary Members, and a growing number of registered members (9000+ by August).

Awarding follows a most democratic procedure where all member’s ratings and the votes of all Honorary Members are effective in the final decisions.

Registrations are completely FREE so that all architects can participate both as candidates and judges.

20+10+X Awards

WA Community Awards

20+10+X Awards is an international online architectural Awards program of World Architecture Community which has already reached a prestigious status with its extraordinary jury of Honorary Members and the remarkable collection of the winning projects of the first five Cycles. This online awards program is repeated in cycles of 3 months and also contains an extensive international publication program of the results in collaboration with architectural journals in all countries.

Each cycle receives projects submitted and updated by the members in 3 months. After that, 250 projects become shortlisted for the voting process and consequently 35 winners with further 30-40 projects cited for their merit are announced in architectural media throughout the world.

WA Awards – Links
How to participate: http://www.worldarchitecture.org/main/?manifest=awards
Winners of the first five cycle: http://www.worldarchitecture.org/winners.asp
Winner posters: http://www.worldarchitecture.org/press/WA.winner.projects/
Winners in press: http://www.worldarchitecture.org/press/WA.in.press/
New submissions: http://www.worldarchitecture.org/main/?manifest=submissions

Location: Istanbul, Turkey

World Architecture Festival Awards

Architects from ALL countries can submit ALL of their buildings (realized or not) for the appreciation of the WA Community. Recent projects (not older than 10 years) will have more chances to be shortlisted for the Awards. Students, landscape architects, engineers may also submit for the awards projects they are the author of: we do not check or accredit diplomas.
Projects submitted to the WA Portal between 21 August 2009 – 22 January 2010 will be considered for the 6th Cycle. All projects submitted earlier can be reconsidered if their pages are updated with significant new material by their architects.

Criteria for Recognition
NOVELTY; ORIGINALITY, and CREATIVITY in design that reflect and inspire a commitment to the art of architecture are the major criteria. The WA Portal tries to bridge the gap between theory and practice: thus the architect’s explanations and member’s discussions on submissions will be critical for recognition as much as the design itself.

Deadline for submissions to be evaluated for the 6th Cycle is January 10, 2010. Please note that early submissions will have more chances to be recognized and move higher in the ranks before the Final Assessment Panel.

In February the shortlisted projects will be online for all members to examine and discuss.

The Panel will complete the voting process, and announce the selected projects during March 2009.

At this last stage, the “Most Thought-provoking +X” projects also will be determined by examining the discussions posted to the pages of the projects.

Contemporary Architecture Awards

WAF Awards

Aga Khan Award for Architecture Prize

Aga Khan Award for Architecture

AIA Gold Medal

Institution of Structural Engineers 2020 Gold Medallist

RIBA Norman Foster Travelling Scholarship 2020

RIBA Gold Medal for Architecture 2020

Comments / photos for the WA Community Awards Architecture page welcome