Richard H. Driehaus Prize Winner, University of Notre Dame School of Architecture, Architect Robert Adam

Richard H. Driehaus Prize Winner

Robert Adam Wins University of Notre Dame School of Architecture Prize – Award News

25 Jan 2017

Robert Adam named 15th Richard H. Driehaus Prize Laureate

Fortescue Fields, Norton St Philip, Somerset, England, UK
Design: ADAM Architecture
Fortescue Fields Norton St Philip Property by Robert Adam, 15th Richard H. Driehaus Prize Laureate
image : ADAM Architecture

Richard H. Driehaus Prize Laureate News

Robert Adam, director of leading Classical and Traditional architect practice ADAM Architecture and an architect known for his scholarship as well as his practice, has been named the recipient of the 2017 Richard H. Driehaus Prize at the University of Notre Dame, the highest value architecture award in the world.

Adam, the 15th Driehaus Prize laureate, will be awarded the $200,000 prize and a bronze miniature of the Choregic Monument of Lysikrates during a ceremony on Saturday 25th March 2017 in Chicago.

Previous winners of the Driehaus prize include Leon Krier and Quinlan Terry. The Richard H. Driehaus Prize at the University of Notre Dame in Indiana USA, was established in 2003 to honour lifetime contributions to traditional, classical and sustainable architecture and urbanism in the modern world. The prize is awarded annually to a living architect whose work has had positive cultural, environmental and artistic impact in keeping with the highest ideals of classical architecture in contemporary society.

Richard Green Gallery, 32-33 New Bond St, Mayfair, London, UK
Design: George Saumarez Smith of Adam Architecture
Richard Green Gallery
picture : Morley von Sternberg

Past Richard H . Driehaus Prize Laureates

2016 Scott Merrill
2015 David M. Schwarz
2014 Pier Carlo Bontempi
2013 Thomas H. Beeby
2012 Michael Graves
2011 Robert A.M. Stern
2010 Rafael Manzano Martos
2009 Abdel-Wahed El-Wakil
2008 Andrés Duany and Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk
2007 Jaquelin T. Robertson
2006 Allan Greenberg
2005 Quinlan Terry
2004 Demetri Porphyrios
2003 Léon Krier

13 Dec 2011

Richard H. Driehaus Prize Winner – Michael Graves

Established in 2003, the Richard H. Driehaus Prize honors, promotes and encourages architectural excellence that applies the principles of traditional, classical and sustainable architecture and urbanism in contemporary societyand environments. It is presented annually by the University of Notre Dame School of Architecture to an outstanding architect in recognition of their work.

Michael Graves, founding principal of Michael Graves and Associates, is credited with broadeningthe role of the architect in society and raising public interest in good design as essential to the quality of everyday life. He received a B.S. in Architectureat the University of Cincinnati and a M.Arch. At Harvard University. Michael Graves won the Rome Prize in 1960 and was a fellow at the American Academy in Rome from 1960-1962. His firm is built on the belief that architecture is inextricably tied to use, place, client aspirations, and cultural traditions. Michael Graves has worked on large-scale master plans, corporate headquarters and other office buildings, hotelsand resorts, restaurants and retail stores, facilities for sports and recreation, healthcare facilities, civic projects such as embassies, courthouses and monuments, a wide variety of university buildings, elementary and secondary schools, museums, theaters and public libraries, and both multifamily and private residences.

In 1962, Michael Graves began a 39-year teachingcareer at Princeton University, where he is now the Robert Schirmer Professor of Architecture, Emeritus. Michael Graves has also received 12 honorarydoctorates from the Universities of Philadelphia, Miami, Colorado, and Cincinnati, as well as from the Pratt Institute, International Fine Arts College, the New Jersey Institute of Technology,Rhode Island School of Design, Drexel Univer-sity, Rutgers University, Boston University andSavannah College of Art.

Mr. Graves is a fellow of the American Institute of Architects, a member of the American Academyof Arts and Letters, and a member of the Boardof Trustees at the American Academy in Rome,the Museum of Arts and Design in New York City, and the New York School of Interior Design. His selected professorships include, in addition to his career at Princeton, the University of Texas at Austin, UCLA, University of Houston, Univer-sity of North Carolina at Charlotte, Architect in Residence at the American Academy in Rome(1979), Kea Visiting Distinguished Professor at the University of Maryland, and the Thomas Jefferson Memorial Foundation Visiting Professor at the University of Virginia.

The American Academy in Rome has establishedthe Michael Graves Rome Prize Fellowship in De-sign in his honor and the AIA-New Jersey chaptercreated the Michael Graves Lifetime Achievement Award, of which he was the first recipient in 2005. Michael Graves was awarded the 1999 National Medalof Arts, the 2001 Gold Medal from the AIA, and the 2010 Topaz Medallion from the AIA and the Associa-tion of Collegiate Schools of Architecture. Michael Graves is a registered architect in 34 states and Washington, D.C., and a number of portfolios ofhis works have been published by Oxford University Press, Rizzoli, Princeton Architectural Press, Chronicle Books Books, and Melcher Media.

Richard H . Driehaus Prize – Past Recipients

Robert A.M. Stern 2011
Rafael Manzano Martos 2010
Abdel-Wahed El-Wakil 2009
Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk and Andrés Duany 2008
Jaquelin T. Robertson 2007
Allan Greenberg 2006
Quinlan Terry 2005
Demetri Porphyrios 2004
Léon Krier 2003

Michael Graves

Location: New Jersey, USA

American Architecture Designs

American Architectural Designs – recent selection from e-architect:

America Architecture News – latest building updates

US Architecture News

American Architect

New York Architecture

New York Five: Richard Meier

Michael Graves : New York Architects Offices

American Architects

Architecture Design Awards

Architectural Design Awards – key selection from e-architect:

AIA Gold Medal

Pritzker Prize architects

AIA New York Design Awards

American Architecture Awards

American Institute of Architects Gold Medal

Architectural Walking Tours

Buildings / photos for the Richard H. Driehaus Prize 2011 page welcome.