RIBA Annie Spink Award 2018: Murray Fraser

RIBA Annie Spink Award 2018, Professor Murray Fraser, Architecture London, UK, British Architects News

RIBA Annie Spink Award 2018

Royal Institute of British Architects Prize for excellence in architectural education news

30 Nov 2018

RIBA Annie Spink Award 2018 Winner

Professor Murray Fraser to receive 2018 RIBA Annie Spink Award

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (30 November 2018) announced Professor Murray Fraser as the recipient of the 2018 RIBA Annie Spink Award for excellence in architectural education.

Professor Murray Fraser
Professor Murray Fraser  2018 RIBA Annie Spink Award winner
photo © Dr Eva Branscome

Fraser, who is Professor of Architecture and Global Culture and Vice-Dean for Research at the Bartlett School of Architecture (UCL), will be presented with the award at the President’s Medals ceremony in London on Tuesday 4 December.

The prestigious biennial prize is awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of architectural education in a school of architecture anywhere in the world that offers courses validated by the RIBA.

RIBA Annie Spink Award 2018 jury:
RIBA Annie Spink Award 2018 jury
photograph courtesy of Royal Institute of British Architects

RIBA President, Ben Derbyshire, said:

“Congratulations to Professor Murray Fraser on winning the 2018 RIBA Annie Spink Award. Murray’s extensive career has influenced the development of thousands of students at Oxford Brookes University, at the University of Westminster, and at the Bartlett School of Architecture, as well as over many other aspects of architectural education. The academic rigour of his teaching of design, and history and theory, and his passionate commitment to sharing architectural knowledge in the most diverse publishing formats, make him a most deserving winner of this award.”

On receiving the award, Professor Murray Fraser, said:

“This award means everything to me. Since I began teaching in the 1990s I have worked hard to raise ambitions in design studio and architectural history and theory through a more collaborative and student-centred approach. I have been fortunate to have worked in three excellent architectural schools – Oxford Brookes, Westminster and the Bartlett – alongside brilliant students and colleagues, from whom I have learnt a great deal about being an architect and an educator. This award is as much theirs as it is mine.”

RIBA Annie Spink Award 2018 judging panel:
RIBA Annie Spink Award 2018 judging panel
photo courtesy of Royal Institute of British Architects

Biography of Professor Murray Fraser

Professor Murray Fraser is a qualified architect and academic who studied for five degrees at the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, prior to working in architectural practices and starting his teaching career, initially at Oxford Brookes University and after that, at the University of Westminster. He took up his current post as Professor of Architecture and Global Culture at the UCL Bartlett School of Architecture in 2011 and was made Vice-Dean of Research for the wider faculty in 2012.

He has had extensive involvement in academic strategy and administration, especially in relation to professional organisations. He has served as a member of the ARB Assessment Panel and of the ARB/RIBA Visiting Board Pool from 2000-05 (including as Chair of Visiting Boards). He was a member of the team that in 2000 wrote the undergraduate QAA Benchmark Statement for Architecture.

He has been external examiner for a variety of Part 1 and Part 2 courses at institutions such as the Universities of Bath, Cambridge, Greenwich, Nottingham, East London, and Westminster, as well as on MA courses at UCL and University College Dublin. He was especially appointed as Senior Visiting Professor at the Technical University of Malaysia between 2005 and 2008 and has also acted as external examiner for many PhD theses in the UK, Ireland, Belgium and Australia, as well as a student mentor for the Stephen Lawrence Trust.

He has provided external scrutiny / advice on courses and research programmes at the Bartlett School of Architecture, Architectural Association, Central St Martin’s College of Art, Robert Gordon University, Innsbruck University, KTH Stockholm, Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts, Technical University of Malaysia, and Queensland University in Australia. He was an assessor for the Australian Research Council and, the Executive Academic Advisor for Nazeer Hussain University.

Over the years he has given many keynote lectures or seminars/workshops on architectural design, architectural history and theory, urbanism, and architectural education at institutions in the UK, Ireland, continental Europe, USA, Australia, Turkey, Malaysia, Singapore and elsewhere. In 2008, he ran the Design Research forum at the international Oxford Conference on Architectural Education, and in June 2013 he was appointed as a member of Guest Faculty for the Metropolis Masters Programme in Architecture and Urban Culture, run by the Universitat Pompey Fabre/Centre de Cultura Contemporania in Barcelona. Between 2012 and 2013 he helped run the World Architectural Festival.

Professor Fraser is a founding member of the European Architectural Research Network (ARENA), editor-in-chief of the Arena Journal of Architectural Research (Ajar), and is general editor of the 21st edition of the Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture, scheduled for publication in May 2019.

Annie Spink Award 2018 Judges

Alan Jones
Annie Spink Award 2018 Judge Alan Jones

Samir Pandya
Annie Spink Award 2018 Judge Samir Pandya

Roy Khatchadourian
Annie Spink Award 2018 Judge Roy Khatchadourian

Lilly Kudic
Annie Spink Award 2018 Judge Lilly Kudic

John-Paul Nunes
Annie Spink Award 2018 Judge John-Paul Nunes

Helen O’Connor
Annie Spink Award 2018 Judge Helen O'Connor

The 2018 Annie Spink judging panel included:

John-Paul Nunes – RIBA Head of Education Projects (non-voting Chair)
Alan Jones – RIBA President Elect; Director of Professional Practice at Queen’s University Belfast
Roy Khatchadourian – RIBA Dissertation Medallist 2016; Architect at PDP London
Lilly Kudic – Head of Architecture at London South Bank University
Helen O’Connor – Head of Architecture and Urban Planning at the University of Dundee
Samir Pandya – Assistant Head of the School of Architecture and Cities at the University of Westminster

The £10,000 Annie Spink Award is financed by the Annie Spink Trust Fund, which was established in 1974 by architect Herbert Spink FRIBA. He bequeathed the trust as a lasting memorial to his wife Annie, who died in 1938, as an honour for the ‘advancement of architectural education’. Past recipients of the Annie Spink Award include Christine Hawley, Florian Beigel, Nigel Coates, Peter Cook and Dalibor Vesely.

RIBA Annie Spink Award 2018 images / information from RIBA

RIBA News & Events 2020

RIBA News & Events 2018

RIBA 2020 Annie Spink Award

2020 Annie Spink Award

Location: 66 Portland Place, London, UK

RIBA Events – Archive

RIBA Event London – Archive

RIBA HQ at 66 Portland Place

RIBA Gold Medal for Architecture

RIBA Exhibition on Perspective in London

RIBAJ 2018 Eye Line Competition

RIBA Gold Medal Architects 2017 Winner in 2017
Alexandra Road Estate, Camden, London building
photo courtesy of RIBA

RIBA News London

RIBA News & Events 2017

Chartered Institute of Building

RIBA Awards

RIBA Stirling Prize

Professor Christine Hawley wins 2016 RIBA Annie Spink Award
Professor Christine Hawley
image courtesy of architect

RIBA Honorary Fellowships

London Architecture School Events

AA School Events

Bartlett School of Architecture Event

Comments / photos for the RIBA Annie Spink Award 2018 page welcome

Website: RIBA + VitrA Talks series