Jencks Award 2015 Winners, UK Architecture, RIBA Prize News

Jencks Award 2015 Winners

Herzog & de Meuron wins Royal Institute of British Architects Jencks Award

19 Aug 2015

Jencks Award 2015 – Herzog & de Meuron

Herzog & de Meuron to receive 2015 RIBA Jencks Award

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today announced Herzog & de Meuron as winners of the 2015 RIBA Jencks Award.

Jencks Award 2015 Winners
image from architect

The award is given to an individual (or practice) that has recently made a major contribution internationally to both the theory and practice of architecture. The award will be presented on Thursday 29 October at the RIBA in London, where the architects will also give a public lecture chaired by Charles Jencks.

The judging panel for the 2015 RIBA Jencks Award comprised of landscape designer, architectural theorist and writer Charles Jencks, architect Stephen Hodder (RIBA President and Chairman of Hodder and Partners), Julia Peyton-Jones (Director of the Serpentine Galleries), Brett Steele (Director of the Architectural Association School of Architecture), and was chaired by David Gloster (RIBA Director of Education).

On this year’s winners, RIBA President Stephen Hodder said:

“The contribution to our profession from Jacques and Pierre is constantly profound. The innovative ways in which they explore and reinterpret is evident in their numerous projects, from the 2003 Stirling Prize winner Laban Centre in London to the multi-layered intersection of architecture, archaeology and art that was the 2012 Serpentine Pavilion. In a remarkable career that has included notable projects such as the acclaimed spaces of the Tate Modern and the 2009 Lubetkin Prize winner National Stadium in Beijing, they have garnered public recognition and acclaim by their peers in the form of prestigious awards such as the 2001 Pritzker Prize and 2007 Royal Gold Medal.

“For the past four decades, Herzog & de Meuron’s work has revealed a constant ability to innovate and apply unique interpretations of architectural theory into practice that make them the unquestionable winners of this year’s RIBA Jencks Award.”

Commenting on architects Herzog & de Meuron receiving the award, Charles Jencks said:

“Herzog & de Meuron have the widest approach to architecture varying their style for each job. In this sense they epitomise the global search for an architecture of pluralism, one flexible enough for very different cultures. While a recognisable attitude runs through the work, and a commitment to intelligent design, it is the creative flexibility which stands out above other practices today. The high quality of the work is as notable as the wit; the amount of production as much as its personality.

“This is due partly to their working methods, of dividing a large office of more than 400 into small, highly motivated design teams and creating the collegial atmosphere of a research institute. Their conceptual innovations combined with high turnover are highly risky, yet they have continued to produce architecture of the highest standard: rigorous and iconic, and plain or ornamented depending on the task at hand.

“Their small medical work REHAB is exemplary; the open-access Schaulager Museum is interesting and provocative, and the VitraHaus is funny, mordant, and to the point. Herzog & de Meuron deserve a lifetime award as a local Basel office and a global practice. They seem to have finally squared the circle of large-scale architectural production.”

On winning the 2015 RIBA Jencks Award, Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron said:

“We are delighted to be the winners of this year’s RIBA Jencks Award. We feel especially happy about that prize since it honours theory as well as practice. Despite the many texts and books we have published, we still have doubts about the longevity of texts written by architects. The title of a few books may be remembered over time – the relevance of their content, though, ages faster than expected… We therefore always did our best to not to separate theory from the built work. Buildings don’t follow theory but yes: the best buildings always allow for theoretical interpretations of all kinds.”

The annual RIBA Jencks Award is given to an individual or practice that has made a recent significant, simultaneous contribution to the theory and practice of architecture. The winner receives an honorarium of £1,000 and a certificate, and delivers a lecture at the RIBA. The award is managed by the RIBA following generous donations by architectural theorist, landscape architect and designer Charles Jencks towards an endowment fund invested by the RIBA, the interest of which finances the award’s administration and prize, as well as travel and accommodation expenses for the winner.

Jencks Award Previous Winners

2015 Benedetta Tagliabue
2012 Rem Koolhaas
2011 Eric Owen Moss
2010 Stephen Holl
2009 Charles Correa
2008 Wolf D. Prix (Coop Himmelb(l)au)
2007 Ben van Berkel and Caroline Bos (UN Studio)
2006 Zaha Hadid
2005 Alejandro Zaera-Polo and Farshid Moussavi (Foreign Office Architects)
2004 Peter Eisenman
2003 Cecil Balmond

Jencks Award 2015 image / information from Royal Institute of British Architects Jencks Award

Jencks Award 2012

Rem Koolhaas to receive 2012 Jencks Award
Central China TV Tower
picture from architect
Jencks Award 2012

Jencks Award 2010

Steven Holl Receives the 2010 Jencks Award
Linked Hybrid
photo : Courtesy Steven Holl Architects © Shu He
Jencks Award 2010

Location: UK

Architectural Design

Contemporary Architecture

RIBA Awards

Charles Jencks – external link to landscape project

Jencks Award winner in 2010 : Steven Holl
Vanke Center
image from architect

RIBA Royal Gold Medal

Stirling Prize

RIBA Lubetkin Prize

Comments / photos for the RIBA Jencks Award – Architecture Prize for Herzog & de Meuron page welcome

Website : RIBA Jencks Award