Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal, Architects, Award, Winners, 2012, Architecture

Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal : Alberto Campo Baeza

German Architect Prize organised from Hamburg: Spanish architect wins in 2012

29 Jan 2013

Alberto Campo Baeza – Winner of Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal

The Spanish architect Alberto Campo Baeza has been awarded the HEINRICH TESSENOW GOLD MEDAL 2012.

Alberto Campo Baeza - Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal Winner 2012
photograph from Estudio Arquitectura Campo Baeza

Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal 2012

Among the distinguished architects to have received the award are the Portuguese architect, Eduardo Souto de Moura, Peter Zumthor from Switzerland and the Norwegian Sverre Fehn, all laureates of the Pritzker Architecture Prize.

The HEINRICH TESSENOW GOLD MEDAL was created in Hamburg in 1963 in honor of the German architect Heinrich Tessenow (1876-1950) a key figure in the history of contemporary architecture both for his ideas and his works. He always repeated: “the simplest form is not always the best, but the best is always simple”. He studied in Munich and was professor in Dresden, Vienna and Berlin.

The award is conferred on architects whose architectural oeuvre is as uncompromising, sober and essential as that proposed by the work, the projects and the writings of Heinrich Tessenow.

Alberto Campo Baeza is an architect and professor at the Madrid School of Architecture, ETSAM. He has taught at the ETH in Zurich and the EPFL in Lausanne, at the Universities of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia and the CUA in Washington as well as numerous other prestigious schools of architectures around the world.

His work has been widely recognized and acclaimed, with exhibitions at CROWN HALL by MIES in Chicago, PALLADIO’s basilica in Vicenza, the Urban Center in New York, the Basilica Santa Irene in Istanbul, the prestigious Gallery Toto in Tokyo, and the Tempietto by Bramante in Rome. And at the MAXXI in Rome in 2011.

The award of the Heinrich Tessenow Society will be received at a public ceremony on January 30, 2013, in Hamburg. The HafenCity University Hamburg (HCU) cooperates closely with the society with regards to their common concern for the building culture.

Alberto Campo Baeza architect

Location: HafenCity University Hamburg, Germany

Architecture Awards

Architecture Prizes – Key Awards

Pritzker Prize architects
Wang Shu architect
photo from ceremony

RIBA Gold Medal Award

AIA Gold Medal

Aga Khan Award for Architecture Prize

Stirling Prize
photo : Roland Halbe

Alvar Aalto Medal

Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal Winners

Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal – Past Winners

Eduardo Souto de Moura

Peter Zumthor

Sverre Fehn

The Twist at Kistefos, Jevnaker Museum
Architects: BIG-Bjarke Ingels Group
The Twist at Kistefos, Jevnaker Museum, Oslo - Norwegian Architecture News
photo : Laurian Ghinitoiu
The Twist at Kistefos, Jevnaker Museum

Comments / photos for the Alberto Campo Baeza Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal Winner 2012 page welcome

Website: Heinrich Tessenow Medal