C.F. Hansen Medal Winner 2009, Buildings News, Design, Architecture Award Denmark

C.F. Hansen Medal, Denmark: 3XN

Danish Architecture Award : Kim Herforth Nielsen, 3XN architects

25 Mar 2009

Denmark’s Highest Architectural Honour

awarded to Danish architect Kim Herforth Nielsen: ‘It’s about making a difference’

C.F. Hansen Medal

Principal and Founder of 3XN architects, Kim Herforth Nielsen, receives Denmark’s highest Architectural Honour, the C.F. Hansen Medal. The Award will be presented by the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts as they ‘acknowledge a person who has made outstanding achievements in the field of Architecture’

Kim Herforth Nielsen - C.F. Hansen Medal winner 2009

Kim Herforth Nielsen receives the Medal for his ability to ‘give rise to a new type of architecture’. Through the years Kim Herforth Nielsen has worked with a clear architectural vision and prioritized the creation of architecture that makes a difference. He is very appreciative of the professional recognition that comes with the Medal.

– It is a great honour for me to receive the C.F. Hansen Medal. My goal has always been to create architecture which creates behavior and ultimately contributes positively to the world – both architecturally and environmentally. In that regard, the Medal is a large recognition of the importance of these qualities in architecture.

International Focus

Kim Herforth Nielsen is the nerve and epicentre of 3XN. His philosophy is based on the combination of design, function, and context. He has set his focus on creating life both in and around buildings and has thus become one of Denmark’s most notable international profiles in the field of architecture. In the Academy’s motivational statement explaining the decision, they expressed,
– Like no other, Kim Herforth Nielsen has maintained an architectural curiosity, combined with the ambition to make the work rise to international standards. Great effort and strong willpower have given rise to buildings such as Het Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam and the Museum of Liverpool. We are looking forward to the completion of the latter.

Kim Herforth Nielsen places strong weight on developing the studio’s international profile. In early March, he was invited to participate in an exclusive think tank for experts, political decision makers and more than 80 Mayors from around the world at MIPIM in Cannes, France. He will once again be part of the international jury at the World Architecture Festival 2009, in addition to being invited as a judge for The Belgian Prize of Architecture in June.

The Financial Crisis requires us to think in new ways

The building industry is widely affected by economic hard times, but Kim Herforth Nielsen is ready to meet the challenges:
– Now is the time for new ways of thinking. The economic situation creates another perspective on the world and we are now in a position to make a difference by insisting on creating high quality buildings and telling stories through our architecture.

Kim Herforth Nielsen has received other distinguished honours. In 1999, he was awarded the Eckersberg Medal, and in 2000 he was made Knight of The Order of Dannebrog. With the C. F. Hansen Medal, he will enter a remarkable league, as this first-class honour has been given to such great architects as Jørn Utzon and Arne Jacobsen in the past.

The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts presents the C.F. Hansen Medal to honour outstanding work within the arts. The medal will be presented Monday, March 30th during the Academy’s Annual General Meeting.

3XN – Danish Architects
3XN was founded in 1986 as 3xNielsen and through the years has established itself through a number of prestige projects – particularly cultural, educational and corporate buildings. The breakthrough came with the Holstebro Courthouse in 1992, and since then the firm has been internationally recognized for projects such as Arkitekternes Hus in Copenhagen, the Royal Danish Embassy in Berlin, Het Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam, Ørestad College in Copenhagen, The Museum of Liverpool, Denmark’s new aquarium ‘The Blue Planet’, and recently for winning the Randers Museum of Art in Denmark.

3XN architects

The C. F. Hansen Medal
The C.F. Hansen Medal is the highest architectural honour given to Danish architects by the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts. It is named after Christian Frederik Hansen and has been given out since 1830.

C.F. Hansen Medal for Kim Herforth Nielsen image / information from 3XN Architects 250309

Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Contemporary Danish Architecture Designs

Nykredit Architectural Award

Danish Architect Offices : Studio Listings

Danish Architecture

Climatorium in Lemvig, Lemvig, Jutland, western Denmark
Architects: 3XN
Climatorium in Lemvig Jutland - Denmark Architecture News
image courtesy of architects
Danish Climatorium Building
As a forum for knowledge, education, innovation and development projects, this new Jutland building will support Denmark’s role as an exporter of climate solutions

Danish Architects

Architecture Walking Tours

New School Building in Aabybro, north west of Aalborg, Jutland, western Denmark
Design: CEBRA architecture, architects with KPF
Aabybro School Building - Denmark Architecture News
image Courtesy architecture office
Aabybro School Building, Aalborg

Comments / photos for the C.F. Hansen Medal Winner in 2009 – Kim Herforth Nielsen of 3XN architects Denmark page welcome