RIBA Stirling Prize 2008 Winner, Shortlist, Award, Picture, News, Architecture, Accordia

Stirling Prize 2008 Winners

UK Architecture Award: Best British Buildings + Architects

Accordia Cambridge by Feilden Clegg Bradley

RIBA Stirling Prize Winner 2008

Stirling Prize 2008 Shortlist
Accordia, Cambridge, England, UK
Design: Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios ; Alison Brooks Architects; Macreanor Lavington
Stirling Prize 2008 Winner - Accordia Cambridge
photo © Adrian Welch

Manchester Civil Justice Centre, Manchester, England, UK
Design: Denton Corker Marshall
Stirling Prize 2008 shortlisted building - Manchester Civil Justice Centre
photograph : Tim Griffith

The Royal Festival Hall, London, England, UK
Design: Allies and Morrison
Stirling Prize 2008 shortlisted building - Royal Festival Hall
photo © Dennis Gilbert

Westminster Academy, London, England, UK
Design: Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
Stirling Prize 2008 shortlisted building - Westminster Academy
photo © Tim Soar

Bijlmer Arena Station, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Design: Grimshaw / Arcadis
Bijlmer Arena Station Building
photo © Ger Van Der Vlugt

Nord Park Cable Railway, Innsbruck, Austria
Design: Zaha Hadid Architects
Nord Park Cable Railway
photo Helene Binet

Stirling Prize : main page

Stirling Prize Dinner Venue
Arena and Convention Centre, Liverpool, England

Date: 11 Oct – winner announcement broadcast live from 9pm on Channel 4 TV

Stirling Prize 2008 Venue : Liverpool Arena

William Hill Betting Odds
Westminster Academy at the Naim Dangoor Centre: 3/1
Manchester Civil Justice Centre: 7/2
Nord Park Cable Railway: 4/1
Amsterdam Bijlmer Arena Station: 9/2
Royal Festival Hall: 5/1
Accordia Cambridge: 5/1

Stirling Prize Judges 2008 – revised:
Eva Jiricna, Eva Jiricna Architects
Gordon Murray, Gordon Murray + Alan Dunlop Architects
Shelley McNamara, Grafton Architects
Kieran Long, AJ Editor
Diarmuid Gavin, landscape architect

Major schemes not shortlisted include Wembley Stadium and Heathrow Terminal 5

The Stirling Prize shortlist was drawn from the 16 RIBA National Award winners, and eligible RIBA European Award winners for the prize

RIBA Awards : contenders – RIBA Award winners

Judging took place : 4 – 8 Sep
Stirling Prize Shortlist announcement : 17 Jul

Location: UK

Stirling Prize 2009

Stirling Prize 2008 News

Stirling Prize 2008 – Change

Revisions made to the Stirling Prize to strengthen the prize’s British connections. Eligibility remains unchanged for all other awards, with the ‘pyramid structure’ introduced in 2007 where RIBA Awards are judged and presented at local level.

For next year the description ‘built or designed in Britain’ will have to apply to all schemes shortlisted for the Stirling Prize. The rule change will restrict eligibility to buildings in the UK designed by RIBA chartered members and International Fellows, and to buildings built elsewhere in the EU as long as the practice has its principal office in the UK.

Tony Chapman, RIBA Head of Awards, says the new pyramid structure has been judged successful and better reflects the diversity of architectural practice.

‘The RIBA Awards reward the best buildings throughout the regions and nations of the UK, allowing for responses to local contexts of style, scale and materials, while the RIBA National Awards compare schemes nationally and by building type. From these a shortlist will be derived for the RIBA Stirling Prize in association with the Architects’ Journal.’ Chapman explained.

Another recent change to the awards was the call this year for statements on the sustainability of buildings, reflecting the institute’s climate change commitments – energy performance statistics, signed by an engineer, are now ‘highly desirable’ for all entries and mandatory for all projects with a contract value over £1m. For 2008, there will also be a requirement for a statement on how projects address the principles of inclusive design.


Contemporary Architecture Awards

Stirling Prize Judge : Eva Jiricna

Stirling Prize 2007 Shortlist

Stirling Prize Winner 2007 : Museum of Modern Literature, Marbach

Stirling Prize 2006 – incl. Shortlist buildings / architects / favourite

Pritzker Prize architects – Architect Winners

Stirling Prize 2008 Judge : Gordon Murray of gm+ad architects

Stirling Prize 2007

Comments re Stirling Prize 2008 Winning Buildings + Architects welcome