Stirling Prize 2007, Winner, Shortlist, Buildings, Project, News, Design, Property

RIBA Stirling Prize 2007 Shortlist

UK Architecture: Winning Buildings + Architects

25 Sep 2007

RIBA Stirling Prize 2007

Winner: Museum of Modern Literature, Marbach am Neckar, Germany
Design: David Chipperfield Architects, London, UK
Marbach museum
photograph © Christian Richters
The Museum of Modern Literature
Displaying artefacts from the extensive 20th century collection from the Archive for German Literature, notably the original manuscripts of Franz Kafka’s ‘The Trial’ and Alfred Döblin’s ‘Berlin Alexanderplatz’, the museum also provides panoramic views across and over the distant landscape.

America’s Cup Building, Valencia, Spain
Design: David Chipperfield Architects
Americas Cup Building Valencia
photo © DCA
America’s Cup Building
The America’s Cup Building ‘Veles e Vents’ (‘Sails and Winds’) was completed within eleven months of winning the competition in June 2005. The building and its accompanying park were opened in time for the preliminary regattas, staged in May and June 2006.

Casa da Musica, Porto, Portugal
Design: Rem Koolhaas / OMA
Casa da Musica Porto
photo © Phillipe Ruault
Casa da Musica

Dresden Station Redevelopment, Germany
Design: Foster and Partners
Dresden Station
photo © Nigel Young
Dresden Station Redevelopment

The Savill Building, Windsor Great Park, England
Design: Glenn Howells Architects
Savill Building
photo © Gareth Gardner
Savill Building

Young Vic Theatre, London, England
Design: Haworth Tompkins
Young Vic Theatre
photo © Philip Vile
Young Vic, London, England

Location: UK

Architectural Awards

Contemporary Architecture Prizes – architectural selection below:

Stirling Prize 2007 Shortlist – detailed info from RIBA 2007

RIBA Awards : RIBA Awards contenders

The award was founded in 1996, and is considered to be the most prestigious architecture award in the United Kingdom. It is publicised as the architectural equivalent of the Booker Prize (literature) and Turner Prize (visual arts). It is the highest profile architectural award in British culture, and the presentation ceremony has previously been televised by Channel 4. It is currently sponsored by developer Almacantar. Six shortlisted buildings are chosen from a long-list of buildings that have received a RIBA National Award. These awards are given to buildings showing “high architectural standards and substantial contribution to the local environment”.

Stirling Prize 2006 – incl. Shortlist buildings / architects / favourite

Pritzker Prize architects – Architect Winners

Stirling Prize : main page

Architects Walking Tours

Please mail us your thoughts on the Stirling Prize 2007 Shortlist or on the favourites