Scottish Home Awards: Housing Prize Scotland

Scottish Home Awards, Results, Housebuilding Scotland, New Homes, UK

Scottish Home Awards

Housing Prize Scotland : Judges + Winners in 2008

11 Apr 2008

Scottish Home Awards 2008 Results


Scottish Home Awards

Scottish Home Awards

The best of Scotland’s housebuilding industry celebrated last night at the annual Scottish Home Awards, sponsored by the Dunfermline Building Society.

Applecross, the Edinburgh-based luxury builder, won three awards including the highest accolade the Savills Housebuilder of the Year Award in front of a packed audience of 550 industry representatives at the EICC in Edinburgh.

Applecross was also awarded the Springfords Medium Housebuilder of the Year Award and the Sound + Vision Waterside Apartment of the Year Award for its Waterside Green development at Meggetland, Edinburgh.

Gladedale also celebrated after collecting two awards for Poggenpohl and Kitchens International City Apartment of the Year Award for its uber-cool Fusion development in Glasgow’s city centre and the Dunfermline Building Society Affordable Housing Development of the Year Award for Richmond Gate at the Oatlands development on the Clyde.

Miller Homes collected the Gillespie Macandrew Large Housebuilder of the Year Award and Fife-based Thomas Mitchell Homes won CALA Finance Small Housebuilder for 2008. CALA Homes fought off stiff competition to win the Business Stream House of the Year Award and Edinburgh architects, Zone Architects, collected the Laufen at Scope Bathrooms Luxury House of the Year for a one-off property built in Murrayfield.

The Scottish Home Awards is the housebuilding industry’s independent awards programme which was established to promote excellence in Scottish house building. Ninety one award entries were debated by an influential expert judging panel of fifteen people including Dan Macdonald of Macdonald Estates, Bill Thomson of Kenmore Property Group and Allan Lundmark of Homes for Scotland. The panel was chaired by Margaret Curran MSP.

Peter Weanie, Director of Dunfermline Building Society said: “The house building industry has enthusiastically embraced the Scottish Home Awards. Rightly so, this is an excellent showcase, celebrating the quality and innovation within the Scottish housebuilding sector. Congratulations to Applecross who demonstrated excellence and innovation of the very highest standard.”

Mark Coulter, Head of Savills’ New Homes Division said: “As Scotland’s largest property services agency, we are delighted to be supporting the best in class category award. In parallel with the outstanding qualities of the winner, Savills is able to claim the widest new homes property market coverage in Scotland, better sales skills and a consultancy service unrivalled throughout the country.”

The awards were hosted by celebrity property gurus, Colin McAllister and Justin Ryan.

Scottish Home Awards Finalists & Winners

City Apartment of the Year
Applecross Tanalach, The Grange (Edinburgh)
Bryant Homes Glasgow Harbour
CALA Homes Signature, The Grange (Edinburgh)
Gladedale (Central Scotland) Ltd Fusion (Glasgow)
Stewart Milne Homes The Ramsay, Kepplestone (Aberdeen)
WINNER: Gladedale (Central Scotland) Ltd Fusion (Glasgow)

Waterside Apartment of the Year
Applecross Waterside Green Craiglockhart (Edinburgh)
Bryant Homes Glasgow Harbour
Chap Homes Ltd The Swan, The Quay, Newburgh (Aberdeen)
Dandara Ltd gh20 (Glasgow)
Unicorn Property Group 74 Unicorn Court, Panmure (Dundee)
WINNER: Applecross Waterside Green, Craiglockhart (Edinburgh)

Green Development of the Year
WINNER: Macfarlane Homes The Cottage Rutherford Gardens

Conversion of the Year
Country Lifestyle Homes Ltd Illieston Castle Steadings, Broxburn
Duncarse Ltd Gowrie House, West Green Park (Dundee)
Manor Kingdom Dollarbeg Castle & Country Estate, Dollar
Opal Homes Heriot House Developments (Borders)
Unicorn Property Group 27 Chandlers Lane, Panmure (Dundee)
WINNER: Country Lifestyle Homes Ltd Illieston Castle Steadings, Broxburn

Family Starter Home of the Year
Bryant Homes Chester of Wester Inch Village, Bathgate
Carvill (Scotland) Ltd The Elipta, Glasgow
Dandara Ltd gh2o (Glasgow)
Meridian Homes The Tay Sycamore Gardens, Newmains (Lanarkshire)
Strathclyde Homes Love Leith (Edinburgh)
WINNER: Meridian Homes The Tay Sycamore Gardens, Newmains (Lanarkshire)

House of the Year
Bryant Homes Hazelwood at Duloch Grange (Dunfermline)
CALA Homes Rowanlea at Briery Meadow (Haddington)
Carvill (Scotland) Ltd The Islay, Longridge (West Lothian)
Mactaggart & Mickel The Lomond (Central Scotland & Ayrshire)
Manorlane The Chesham, The Hamptons (Netherburn)
Robertson Homes Barcelona, Fisher Grange (Kilmarnock)
Stewart Milne Homes The Thorntonhall, Burnbank Meadows (Kinross)
Strathclyde Homes Henryson, Scholars Gate, Bathgate
Thomson Homes The Tay, Middleton Park (Keltybridge)
Tulloch Homes The Carnegie, Fairways (Inverness)
WINNER: CALA Homes Rowanlea at Briery Meadow (Haddington)

Affordable Housing Development of the Year
Bryant Homes Slateford Village (Edinburgh)
CALA Homes Briery Meadow (Haddington)
Dunedin Canmore Housing Association 494 Gorgie Road (Edinburgh)
Gladedale (Central Scotland) Ltd Richmond Gate, Oatlands (Glasgow)
Hillcrest Housing Association John Knox Road, St Andrews
& Thomas Mitchell Homes
WINNER: Gladedale (Central Scotland) Ltd Richmond Gate, Oatlands (Glasgow)

Luxury House of the Year
Dennis Developments The Turnhouse, The Castle Gogar Estate
Forbes of Kingennie Kingennie Fields (near Dundee)
Macfarlane Homes The Cottage, Rutherford Gardens (West Linton)
Miller Homes The Lorimar, Graysmill, Craiglockhart
Southglen Developments Ltd Leamington Wharf (Edinburgh)
Stephen Country Homes Clathymore (Perthshire)
Stewart Milne Homes The Kennedy (Aberdeen)
Strathclyde Homes Exclu8ive, Novar Drive (Glasgow)
Universal Starbox Ltd Roosevelt Classic- Archerfield (East Lothian)
Zone Architects 20 Henderland Road (Edinburgh)
WINNER: Zone Architects 20 Henderland Road (Edinburgh)

Large Housebuilder of the Year (No short list)
WINNER: Miller Homes

Medium Housebuilder of the Year
Dawn Homes
Mactaggart & Mickel
Springfield Properties Ltd
Stewart Milne Homes
WINNER: Applecross

Small Housebuilder of the Year
Country Lifestyle Homes Ltd
Sovereign House Developments
Duncarse Ltd
Thomas Mitchell Homes
WINNER: Thomas Mitchell Homes

Housebuilder of the Year
WINNER: Applecross

Scottish Home Awards 2008 Judging Panel

Panel to be chaired by Margaret Curran MSP, former Minister for Communities and current opposition spokesperson on Communities, Health and Wellbeing

Scottish Home Awards judging panel:
Peter Weanie, Dunfermline Building Society – Board Director
Malcolm Macleod, NHBC Scotland – Director
Nick Barley, The Lighthouse – Executive Director
Arnie Dunn, RIAS President
Robin Harper MSP, Scottish Green Party
Michaela Sullivan, Forth Ports Plc – Head of Planning
Allan Lundmark, Homes for Scotland – Director of Planning & Communications
Janey Milligan, The Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors in Scotland – Chairman
Jacqui Watt, Scottish Federation of Housing Associations – Chief Executive
Alan Ferguson, Chartered Institute of Housing Scotland – Director
Bill Thomson, Kenmore Homes – former Chief Executive
Dan Macdonald, Macdonald Estates – Chief Executive
Kirsty McLuckie, The Scotsman – Property Editor

Scottish Home Awards Entry Guide:
0131 624 9840 / [email protected]
Deadline for entries: 17 Dec

Scottish Home Awards – 10 Apr 2008

Location: Scotland, UK

Architecture Awards

RIBA Awards

Roses Design Awards

Stirling Prize

Scottish Architecture Awards

Saltire Awards

Scottish Design Awards 2007

Scottish Eco Prize

Scottish Architecture

Scottish Housebuilding

Scottish Houses

Scottish Housing

Comments / photos for the Scottish Home Awards page welcome

New Houses

Architecture Tours Europe