SBID Design Award 2019, Building Interiors Prize News, Gold Accreditation Standard

SBID International Design Awards

Society of British and International Design Annual Interior Architecture Prize

13 Aug 2019

SBID International Design Awards 2019

SBID International Design Awards accredited to GOLD standard

The prestigious SBID International Design Awards have been accredited to GOLD standard by The Independent Awards Standards Council. SBID are the first interior design award scheme to be accredited to this standard.

The Awards Trust Mark Scheme was established with the aim of encouraging more award programmes to focus on their own ethics and transparency. The scheme scrutinises everything from criteria, scoring, feedback, transparency and judging.

SBID International Design Awards Gold Accreditation Standard
photo courtesy of SBID

Considered as one of the most prestigious accolades in interior design by the best in the industry, the SBID International Design Awards are awarded purely on the quality of the design, innovation, aesthetic and value-added to the project. Each entry undergoes an exhaustive two-tier judging process by panels of leading industry experts for both technical content and aesthetic creativity. Evaluating essential elements such as compliance with the brief, budget, health & safety and fit-for-purpose design.

Chris Robinson, Co-Founder of the Independent Awards Standards Council, and MD of the world’s first award entry consultancy, Boost Marketing commented: “The SBID International Design Awards scheme is an exemplar in how awards should be operated. Their attention to every detail, from the transparency of the scoring system, to the briefings provided to judges, to the quality of websites, the clarity of the entering process, and the quality of customer service throughout is exemplary. I hope more schemes will aspire to this level of service and also earn the Gold Standard Awards Trust Mark.”

SBID Award categories cover all aspects of interior design including Retail design, Public Space, Healthcare & Wellness Design, Residential Design, CGI, Club & Bar Design, Restaurant Design, Office Design and Hotel Design. The highly anticipated finalists of the 2019 awards are due to be announced on Friday 16th August, the public will then be invited to vote for their favourite projects which accounts for 30% of the final results.

Last year saw one of the most globally represented editions to date with an astounding 225,000 unique voters during the voting period.

Founder and CEO of SBID International Design Awards, Dr Vanessa Brady, OBE comments “We’re thrilled to receive this accreditation and recognition which is a further endorsement of the value that an SBID Award generates to winners and one of the many reasons why the industry hold the SBID Awards as the ultimate recognised achievement for Interior Design”.

The Awards Trust Mark Scheme

The Independent Awards Standards Council (IASC) is a not-for profit organisation made up of stakeholders in the Awards Industry. It was established with the aim of raising standards and perceptions of trust in awards as a whole, for the benefit of all stakeholders. Chris Robinson, Co-Founder of the Independent Awards Standards Council, and his fellow council members believe that some award schemes are falling wide of the mark.

“The need for the Trust Mark, and the elements within an agreed code of conduct, are based on research by Boost Marketing that gained input from both awards entrants and organisers. According to Boost’s research, the average score given by businesses when asked ‘ how well does the awards industry meet your needs ’ was just 5.7 out of 10.

But around 80% of businesses entering awards would be influenced by an independent accreditation scheme when picking awards to enter. The big picture for the IASC is that the UK aspires to lead the world in business awards, setting the standard to which the rest of the world aspires. This will improve the credibility and thus popularity and impact of awards schemes, for the benefit of all stakeholders within the awards industry.”

Previously on e-architect:

SBID International Design Awards 2020

SBID International Design Awards 2018

2018 SBID Awards

Residential Design Over £1M – Fenton Whelan – Greybrook House Penthouse:
Greybrook House Penthouse
photo courtesy of SBID

SBID International Design Award 2018 Winners

About SBID (Society of British International Design)

This international architectural prize has firmly established itself as the most prestigious interior design award in the global design calendar. The awards recognise, reward and celebrate design excellence across a broad range of categories including hotels and restaurants.

Winning a SBID International Design Award is a high achievement – they are evaluated by leading industry experts for their technical content and aesthetic creativity while the design-conscious public also has a say in choosing the most inspiring projects. The SBID Awards attracts entries from over 40 countries worldwide, making it truly an honour and sign of industry recognition that is second to none for the deserving winners.

LXA – Intersect by Lexus by LXA; Winners of the Retail Design category 2017:
LXA - Intersect by Lexus by LXA
photograph courtesy of SBID

For more information visit

SBID International Design Awards 2018 image / information received 260318

Location: 10 Molasses Row, London, SW113UX, United Kingdom

SBID International Design Awards 2017

Winners of 2017 SBID Awards
The Whale Bar, St Regis Hotel, The Maldives - SBID International Design Awards 2017
image courtesy of architects
SBID International Design Award 2017 Winner : The Whale Bar in The Maldives

Bussola Restaurant in Dubai
LW Design Win Restaurant Design Award At SBID Awards 2016
Bussola Restaurant in Dubai - SBID International Design Awards 2016
image courtesy of architects
SBID International Design Awards 2016

SBID International Design Award 2017 Winners

SBID UK Pavilion for Interior

Dubai Architecture

Waterfront City Dubai by OMA

Atlantis Hotel Dubai

Contemporary Properties

Residential Architecture USA, chronological:

Riverbend Residence, Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Design: CLB Architects
Riverbend Residence Jackson Wyoming
photo : Matthew Millman
Riverbend Residence in Jackson, Wyoming

Enchanted Point Residence, Miami, Florida, USA
Architects: SDH Studio Architecture + Design
Enchanted Point Residence Miami Florida
photograph : David Hernandez
Enchanted Point Residence in Miami

Comments for the SBID International Design Awards 2018 page welcome