Designing Places Awards, Scotland

Designing Places Awards, Scotland, Winner, Housing, Dates, Deadline, Houses

Designing Places Awards Scotland

Homes for Scotland Quality Award Scheme, 2008

Homes for Scotland Quality Awards winners

Urban Large
Bellway Homes, Mondriaan, Maryhill, Glasgow
Bryant Homes East, Hopetoun Village, Edinburgh

Urban Small
Tweed Homes, Provost Kirkpatrick Court, Peebles

Rural Large
CALA Homes, Briery Meadow, Haddington

Rural Small
CALA Homes, Orchard Lane, Dirleton

The EDI Group for PARC Craigmillar, Greendykes North, Edinburgh
The EDI Group for PARC Craigmillar, Wauchope Square, Edinburgh

Judges’ Special Award
Bryant Homes East, Hopetoun Village, Edinburgh

Designing Places Awards

Homes for Scotland, which is intent on ensuring that the 35,000 new homes pledged by the Scottish Government will form part of high quality, integrated and sustainable communities, has launched a new award scheme to encourage best practice.

The Designing Places Awards will not simply consider house types or stand alone developments but will embrace the government’s ‘place-making’ agenda by rewarding those companies who are contributing to the creation of dynamic environments for future generations.

The Homes for Scotland Quality Award Scheme, now in its sixth year, is open to the organisation’s home builder members. These companies provide 95% of all new homes built for sale in Scotland each year.

Stewart Maxwell MSP, Minister for Communities and Sport said: “The Homes for Scotland Awards are an opportunity to demonstrate that the Government’s ambition is matched by those responsible for creating the high quality development that Scotland’s communities deserve.”

Entries will be evaluated by an independent judging panel, Chaired by Scotland’s Chief Planner, Jim McKinnon.

He said: “I am confident that the projects which will emerge from the Awards process will help raise greater awareness of design issues, see high quality development which enhances a sense of place and identity as the norm rather than the exception and, in so doing, contribute significantly to sustainable economic growth in Scotland.”

The deadline for entries is Friday, January 18, 2008. Winners will be announced at the industry’s annual lunch at which the Minister is expected to address an audience of over 650 members of the Scottish homebuilding industry.

Location: Scotland

Architecture in Scotland

Contemporary Architecture in Scotland – architectural selection below:

Scottish Architecture Designs – chronological list

Scottish Architecture News

Upper Parkbrae House, Oyne, Aberdeenshire, Northeast Scotland
Design: Brown & Brown Architects
Upper Parkbrae House Aberdeenshire
photograph © Nigel Rigden
Upper Parkbrae House, Aberdeenshire

Charnock Bradley Building, Easter Bush, Midlothian
Design: Atkins
Innovation Centre and Campus Hub at Edinburgh University
image Courtesy architecture office
Charnock Bradley Building Roslin

Hawkhead Centre, Paisley, Southwest Scotland
Design: Page \ Park Architects
Hawkhead Centre in Paisley
photo : Keith Hunter
Hawkhead Centre in Paisley

Contemporary Architectural Awards

Stirling Prize

Homes for Scotland Quality Awards : 2008 Shortlist

Civic Trust Awards Scotland

Dynamic Place Awards

Roses Design Awards

Scottish Design Awards

RIBA Awards

Saltire Awards

Comments / photos for the Designing Places Awards page welcome

Homes for Scotland – Website: